SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Double Needle Topstitch in the ditch

Viewed 5435 times
Posted by: BeeBeeSew
photo

 
 
About BeeBeeSew star
MD USA
Member since: 12/13/07
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/14/09 8:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 30 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is a fast and really nice way to finish knit or knit/woven necklines or waistbands using a double needle.
Use a fairly wide double needle - choose this by where you want your top stitching - one needle will go in the ditch. You'll be making one pass around the neck line or skirt waistband or .... One needle goes in the ditch and the other needle goes on the band where you want to do your top stitching. If you keep the ditch stitch IN the ditch, your Top Stitching will be perfect. AND - the real bonus here - your inside will be finished with a nice zig-zag that will catch all your edges. You don't need to fold under or finish that edge, this techique will finish the edge for you. I know my photo isn't the best (and really, it's not as wonky as it looks, really) but you can see both the top stitching and the inside zig-zag. The inside zz was a pleasant surprise when I finished this. It made a really nice finish to the (in this case)neckline. I've used it in pants and skirts, too. If you want, you can put different color threads in different needles for invisible in the ditch and contrasting top stitching. You need to pay attention to your bobbin color, and pick one that you will be happy with on the inside of the garment. Pressing well before starting helps, too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Very clever
4/14/09 9:35 AM
mhk3boys said...
That looks great!
4/14/09 11:17 AM
dollieo said...
Every bit as nice a job as my CP1000, and alot less expensive.
4/14/09 11:50 AM
sewnow said...
I like that
4/14/09 1:05 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW....Nice! I need to try this on my machine on my next garment. Really useful tip! It seems so simple, yet I never heard of it or thought of it! THANKS!
4/14/09 10:47 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
This was one of those discoveries that occured because I'm lazy and was tired of messing with a neckline. I didn't look it up or even think about it. I just did it. It really never occured to me how nicely the inside would look, I just wanted both rows of stitching done and done. When I turned it over and saw the inside I was amazed and delighted.
4/15/09 7:57 AM
Woolygal said...
This is a wonderful tip. Thanks.
4/15/09 8:41 AM
Patti B said...
Great idea!
4/15/09 10:09 AM
barbcl said...
Thanks for a great tip that I will definitely use.
4/15/09 11:42 AM
GrammaSewn said...
very clever and useful
4/15/09 2:27 PM
misscoleen said...
Great Idea! Thanks for sharing!
4/22/09 3:02 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great tip!!! I'll dfinitely be giving that one a try!!!
5/5/09 3:58 PM
hevemi said...
What a great tip! The problem of four grand- children's summer T-shirts just got solved (that's what grandmothers are for). Thanks.
5/31/09 2:26 AM
PatBB said...
Thanks, I will try this method - looks like RTW.
7/3/09 7:12 PM
annie in the uk said...
thank you so much for this tip it wil help me when i create a matching top to my skirt
7/12/09 5:00 AM
Alice said...
Geez! I use a couple of difference sized dbl needle but never thought of your method, it's great and I will do it that way next time. Thanks you smart girl.
10/3/10 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.