SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > An evening with Connie Crawford

Massachusetts, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5655 times
Posted by: Ann B.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann B. star
MA USA
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
classes reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/09 4:12 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
The Boston Chapter of the ASG invited Connie Crawford to give a presentation to our group on April 23, 2009. Connie opened the meeting at 5:30 in the evening and did not stop for four hours.

Connie started with the 2009/10 winter and a bit of the following spring fashion forecasts. She gave us a little insight as to how designers use “predictives” to decide what may sell in the future. She also gave us a little taste of what a designer or assistant designer does, and a bit about the actual fashion economy. We now all have a better understanding of why department stores and other retail establishments can go out of business. Fashion sewing is going to be bigger than ever in the coming few seasons.

Connie was clear that the industry is keeping up with the most affluent customers and that the average person, (all of us in the room) were going to be getting less of the designers efforts. Basically, rich folks still have money to spend.

Connie spent the last portion of the program showing us how to custom draft a pair of pants. She is very clear that patterns have to be properly balanced. She started to give us the 4 balance points of a pattern, but moved on to the meat of the program. She made each participant of the meeting a gift of the pants drafting chapter from her huge pattern-drafting book.

There are 2 pant drafts offered, one for the younger figure, and one for the mature figure. A plus sized woman would choose the mature draft, even if young. There were also drafts for children and men included in the book. One lucky woman was the model and for the indignity of having her measurements posted for 35 women to see, she received a custom drafted pants pattern. We all agreed she made a good trade.

I enjoyed this presentation, and came away with a new enthusiasm to sew pants.

I put Connie Crawford's web address up, not the ASG website. I recently became an ASG member and since November I have been luck enough to see presentations by two Sewing Personalities.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
wendalia said...
Just had a 3 day class with her in Flint, phenomenal. Not to be missed if you get the opportunity. wendy
5/23/10 6:44 PM
Marilyn in Ohio said...
Our local ASG chapter featured Connie in an all day workshop. What a great day! She corrected a lot of misinformation that has been taught to us over the years. She's a must see if in your area.
1/28/10 2:58 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Ann B.! You're ALSO lucky to have an ASG!! ;) Rhonda in Canada
5/9/09 10:59 AM
gaginny said...
I wish that I could have been there.....I am looking forward to summer of 2010 when she will be in Atlanta.....I love her patterns as they fit my mature figure so very well. I called her number from her website to order a pattern and she answered. I asked her when she would be in this area and that is how I found out about the Atlanta seminar. I think it will be a part of an ASG conference....I need to join this organization!
4/25/09 9:26 AM
nancy2001 said...
Sounds like a great class.
4/25/09 8:26 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Sounds like your membership is paying off! Thanks for the review.
4/25/09 7:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.