SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Scissor Bar

Viewed 5228 times
Posted by: annenet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annenet star
United States
Member since: 8/2/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/28/09 10:17 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When trying to figure out what to do with my sewing scissors and how to keep them from being mistaken for paper scissors by curious family members I thought of using a magnetic knife holder for them. It fits on the wall over my sewing machine and it is well known the only one who can touch the scissors on that bar is me!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Carol Mendoza said...
Great tip, where did you buy the knife holder?
4/28/09 10:39 PM
annenet said...
Chesapeake Knife shop but I'm pretty sure any kitchen store would have them. I've seen them on Amazon too.
4/28/09 10:42 PM
granny geek said...
I did the same thing but found that it worked better monted vertically. It is especially helpful for small tweezers and bodkins which are often hard to locate when you are busy with a project.
4/29/09 0:25 AM
calminatrix said...
great idea!!! good for straight edges, t-squares, too, i would think.
4/29/09 9:05 AM
rprakash said...
Great Idea. The only precaution is that the magnet should be strong enogh to hold lest the falling scissor might hurt?????????
5/13/09 9:12 AM
annenet said...
The magnet is incredibly powerful. No chance the scissors will fall.
1/13/10 1:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.