SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Scissor Bar

Viewed 5337 times
Posted by: annenet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annenet star
United States
Member since: 8/2/03
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/28/09 10:17 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When trying to figure out what to do with my sewing scissors and how to keep them from being mistaken for paper scissors by curious family members I thought of using a magnetic knife holder for them. It fits on the wall over my sewing machine and it is well known the only one who can touch the scissors on that bar is me!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
annenet said...
The magnet is incredibly powerful. No chance the scissors will fall.
1/13/10 1:50 PM
rprakash said...
Great Idea. The only precaution is that the magnet should be strong enogh to hold lest the falling scissor might hurt?????????
5/13/09 9:12 AM
calminatrix said...
great idea!!! good for straight edges, t-squares, too, i would think.
4/29/09 9:05 AM
granny geek said...
I did the same thing but found that it worked better monted vertically. It is especially helpful for small tweezers and bodkins which are often hard to locate when you are busy with a project.
4/29/09 0:25 AM
annenet said...
Chesapeake Knife shop but I'm pretty sure any kitchen store would have them. I've seen them on Amazon too.
4/28/09 10:42 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Great tip, where did you buy the knife holder?
4/28/09 10:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.