SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Removing Steam-A-Seam

Viewed 6290 times
Posted by: Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austin starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/2/09 6:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Apparently there was a tiny piece of Steam-a-Seam on my ironing board and I managed to press it quite firmly smack dab on the front of a sateen coat I'm making. Of course it pulled up some of the fibers from my white canvas board cover and made a big mess. YIKES!

The Steam-a-Seam manufacturer's page recommends using a citrus based cleaner like Desolve-It or CitraSolv, but that didn't get it to budge for me. So, after testing a fabric scrap to ensure colorfastness, I used a little rubbing alcohol applied with a q-tip and then used a toothbrush to rub it off. Worked like a charm! Thanks Debbie Lancaster for her original tip to use rubbing alcohol to remove interfacing adhesive. (ironically, the rubbing alcohol does not seem to have affected the interfacing that was on the back of the piece)

Whew!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MarilynB said...
Thanks for a great tip. You have just eliminated much profanity in the sewing room.
5/3/09 6:54 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great tip, thanks.
5/3/09 3:32 PM
monijo said...
I have successfully used paint thinner to remove a glue gun stain from the front of "silkie" blouse. Nothing would work. I tried that solution as a last resort. Christmas Eve night--rushing to complete decorations that had to be at Midnight Mass--no time to change.
5/3/09 6:43 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think I'll print this out and tape it to the wall near my ironing board, so it's handy the *next* time it happens. And it will. Thanks, Leslie.
5/4/09 7:20 AM
HatBuddy said...
Glad that simple alchohal worked for you. I have found that alcohal, baking soda, vinegar, Bi-o-Kleen and Quick N Brite have a whole bunch of uses! And are much safer for people and environmental health then the chemical potions (even the ones that have names to make us think the chemicals are environment and people safe). Can't beat the old traditional stand bys to get the job done! That reminds me I need to break out my alcohal and clean my board ! Got adhesive on it the last two sewing tasks I did.
5/4/09 12:16 PM
GwenC said...
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You are a lifesaver! Well, at least a blouse-saver! ;)
6/13/10 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.