SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Noting Your Figure Specifics and Pattern Adjustments at a Point in Time on Patterns Fitted to That Shape

Viewed 5348 times
Posted by: QuickFade
photo

 
 
About QuickFade star
Member since: 6/7/05
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/10/09 3:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
When I adjust a pattern to fit my current shape and size, I note the following in a word processing document and store a printout with the customized pattern:

1) Pattern Company and Pattern Number

2) Original pattern size(s) used, such as "10 at shoulders, 14 at bust, 14 at waist, and 16 at hips)."

3) Approximate Date of Fitting, such as June 2009

4) Weight on that Date

5) Relevant Body Measurements on that Date (this will vary with the type of pattern used)

6) Special Undergarments Worn with the Garment, such as a push-up bra or a body shaper.

7) List of changes I made to the original pattern

8) Front, side and back photos of me in special undergarments worn with the garment or in clothing that shows my shape, such as a leotard, underwear or a T-shirt and knit shorts.

9) Front, side and back photos of me in the fitted garment

By documenting these facts when I adjust a pattern, I can later see at a glance whether an adjusted pattern will fit me at my current shape and size, whether I can easily adjust the pattern for current use, or whether I should start over with a different size or use a different pattern.

This technique can help sewers accommodate shape changes due to weight gain, fitness changes, pregnancy and lactation, plastic surgery, and the changes related to aging process.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Bernie R. said...
What a great idea! I was just looking at a list of patterns I have from 2003 and wondering if I'd have to make major adjustments to use them. I'll start using your idea to make life easier!
5/14/09 2:52 PM
Brine said...
I really like this idea and especially having photos.
5/11/09 3:03 PM
CSM--Carla said...
I love this idea!! I'm printing this one out for future use! Thanks PopoAgie! Carla
5/11/09 12:10 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a good idea! Having a photo corrects the images in one's mind's eye and help to move one along in the iftting process.
5/11/09 9:55 AM
Maripat said...
Thanks! What a great tip for our ever changing women's bodies. I guess you could also do this all digitally, storing the pictures and an Excel spreadsheet on your computer.
5/11/09 7:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.