SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Noting Your Figure Specifics and Pattern Adjustments at a Point in Time on Patterns Fitted to That Shape

Viewed 5243 times
Posted by: QuickFade
photo

 
 
About QuickFade star
Member since: 6/7/05
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/10/09 3:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
When I adjust a pattern to fit my current shape and size, I note the following in a word processing document and store a printout with the customized pattern:

1) Pattern Company and Pattern Number

2) Original pattern size(s) used, such as "10 at shoulders, 14 at bust, 14 at waist, and 16 at hips)."

3) Approximate Date of Fitting, such as June 2009

4) Weight on that Date

5) Relevant Body Measurements on that Date (this will vary with the type of pattern used)

6) Special Undergarments Worn with the Garment, such as a push-up bra or a body shaper.

7) List of changes I made to the original pattern

8) Front, side and back photos of me in special undergarments worn with the garment or in clothing that shows my shape, such as a leotard, underwear or a T-shirt and knit shorts.

9) Front, side and back photos of me in the fitted garment

By documenting these facts when I adjust a pattern, I can later see at a glance whether an adjusted pattern will fit me at my current shape and size, whether I can easily adjust the pattern for current use, or whether I should start over with a different size or use a different pattern.

This technique can help sewers accommodate shape changes due to weight gain, fitness changes, pregnancy and lactation, plastic surgery, and the changes related to aging process.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Maripat said...
Thanks! What a great tip for our ever changing women's bodies. I guess you could also do this all digitally, storing the pictures and an Excel spreadsheet on your computer.
5/11/09 7:11 AM
EleanorSews said...
What a good idea! Having a photo corrects the images in one's mind's eye and help to move one along in the iftting process.
5/11/09 9:55 AM
CSM--Carla said...
I love this idea!! I'm printing this one out for future use! Thanks PopoAgie! Carla
5/11/09 12:10 PM
Brine said...
I really like this idea and especially having photos.
5/11/09 3:03 PM
Bernie R. said...
What a great idea! I was just looking at a list of patterns I have from 2003 and wondering if I'd have to make major adjustments to use them. I'll start using your idea to make life easier!
5/14/09 2:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.