SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Speeding up the sewing process

Viewed 5742 times
Posted by: Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Miller starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/02 2:02 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I got this idea from Peggy Sagers this weekend. She recommends that when it is time to begin sewing, we sit down and sew every seam we can before ever going to the iron. Sew princess seams (all four) the side seams and even the shoulder seams before getting up. Put together the collars and cuff, attach facings and pockets. For a jacket, sew the sleeve underarm. Put in the welt pockets, etc. Anything that isn't affected by another seam should be sewn before you need to go iron. With this technique I had my jacket muslin ready to try on in 15 minutes.

Now, how am I going to get my exercise? Oh well, at least I'll have more projects completed!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
I try do this as well. @Mary - you should still iron, you're not leaving this step out, but you're just doing all the seams at one time instead.
4/29/11 2:55 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
15 minutes!!!!!!!!! My heavens!!!!!!!! Thanks for the tip :)
8/19/07 10:44 AM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
Along these same lines, to speed up sewing and minimize ironing: After cutting out my pattern pieces and interfacing, I fuse on everything that is being fused: the strip to back my buttonholes, the collar, any pockets that need a stiffening band: any interfacing that will be going in, gets fused right away. Then I can sew quite a lot before I have to go back to the iron again, which may be another day (since I get bits and pieces of time).
12/29/02 5:00 PM
Mary Muir said...
That sounds like a good tip although a tailor once told me you should iron more that you sew!
11/22/02 2:07 AM
Sharon Smith said...
I like this technique too, Sherril. Not only does it save time, but it saves electricity - turning the iron off and on for each pressing. Since I'm on a special electric rate that costs more during peak hours, this really saves.
11/19/02 5:26 PM
Deepika said...
what a helpful little tip Sherril. Thanks for sharing. I am all for SAVING TIME!
11/12/02 7:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.