SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Speeding up the sewing process

Viewed 5640 times
Posted by: Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Miller starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 185 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/02 2:02 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I got this idea from Peggy Sagers this weekend. She recommends that when it is time to begin sewing, we sit down and sew every seam we can before ever going to the iron. Sew princess seams (all four) the side seams and even the shoulder seams before getting up. Put together the collars and cuff, attach facings and pockets. For a jacket, sew the sleeve underarm. Put in the welt pockets, etc. Anything that isn't affected by another seam should be sewn before you need to go iron. With this technique I had my jacket muslin ready to try on in 15 minutes.

Now, how am I going to get my exercise? Oh well, at least I'll have more projects completed!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
what a helpful little tip Sherril. Thanks for sharing. I am all for SAVING TIME!
11/12/02 7:32 PM
Sharon Smith said...
I like this technique too, Sherril. Not only does it save time, but it saves electricity - turning the iron off and on for each pressing. Since I'm on a special electric rate that costs more during peak hours, this really saves.
11/19/02 5:26 PM
Mary Muir said...
That sounds like a good tip although a tailor once told me you should iron more that you sew!
11/22/02 2:07 AM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
Along these same lines, to speed up sewing and minimize ironing: After cutting out my pattern pieces and interfacing, I fuse on everything that is being fused: the strip to back my buttonholes, the collar, any pockets that need a stiffening band: any interfacing that will be going in, gets fused right away. Then I can sew quite a lot before I have to go back to the iron again, which may be another day (since I get bits and pieces of time).
12/29/02 5:00 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
15 minutes!!!!!!!!! My heavens!!!!!!!! Thanks for the tip :)
8/19/07 10:44 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I try do this as well. @Mary - you should still iron, you're not leaving this step out, but you're just doing all the seams at one time instead.
4/29/11 2:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.