SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > The Seam Method of Pattern Alteration

Viewed 5436 times
Posted by: Mandolin82
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mandolin82 star
WA USA
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/14/03 5:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I found this method worked great for fitting pants over my big behind. It is easy and I expect would work for many other alterations.

The method is described on the Threads Magazine website at URL http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00018.asp. Even after using the Palmer/Pletsch fitting for pants book I still had trouble getting enough extra fabric to cover my big rear. I used the method for increasing the length of pants back found in this article and it worked way better than just increasing the inseam, which the pattern and the Palmer/Pletsch book suggested.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Towanda said...
Susan I just ordered her book. I have used this technique in the past and it worked better than others I have used. Now I can't find my copy of this article, the article has more info than the website. This technique is great for sizing up patterns.
6/15/03 11:01 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Towanda, let me know what you think of the book. I think I might order it myself. SUsan
6/15/03 3:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is an excellent tip. After seeing it, I pulled out the Threads issue (No. 85, Dec. 1999) and read it - easier on the eyes. Then I promptly used it for a pair of pants for a lady with what I call "J. Lo butt" I love the fact that it doesn't distort the grainline! Next I'm going to try it on a princess line top for me. Thanks! -Ann
6/18/03 1:16 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
i cant seem to get this page to show up.
6/23/03 12:34 PM
els said...
Maria Hatfield here is the website http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00018.asp
6/23/03 4:27 PM
Karla Kizer said...
http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00018.asp
4/8/05 10:36 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I have no idea how I wound up repeating that URL and having it post as a comment. I am apparently cyber-spacey. Sorry, everyone....
4/8/05 10:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.