SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Dye Lingerie Findings Quickly

Viewed 5467 times
Posted by: Liana
photo

 
 
About Liana starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/14/09 5:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Half the fun of lingerie sewing is having color-coordinated items. While colored notions are available, you may not find the exact shade you need, or you may have plenty of white at home that you'd like to use.

Most elastic, straps, channeling, plastic sliders, etc. are very dyeable. If they're made of nylon, they'll dye like a dream. When you're doing just enough for a few panties or a bra, you can do it easily with Rit dye in hot water. Just use a little dye (maybe about 1/4 tsp.) and you can mix colors to get what you want. Add the dye to the water, stir, add your wet notions and stir. Keep lifting your items to check the color. It won't take long. Rinse and hang to dry.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
That is a great idea! Does the dye bleed any when washed?
5/14/09 8:18 PM
Liana said...
mhk3boys, I've never noticed any change in the color afterward.
5/14/09 10:23 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Thanks for the great tip!
5/15/09 2:03 AM
ClaireF in CA said...

5/15/09 2:03 AM
Ach said...
Strangely enough, Coolaid works well, too
5/15/09 9:10 AM
Diane Slade Inc said...
Thanks! I was just wondering about this! Talk about timely :D
5/15/09 1:14 PM
HatBuddy said...
Wow I didn't realize some of the findings you mentioned could be dyed. Especially so easily. Thanks for the knowledge shared.
5/15/09 2:29 PM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you Liana, I am just venturing into making underwear. Now I want to have matching sets with different colours. This is a wonderful tip.
5/18/09 1:38 AM
wendlesue said...
Fun!
5/19/09 2:35 PM
annenet said...
Great tip Liana! I love making lingerie and that takes the sting out of getting colors I want!
5/20/09 1:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.