SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Ripping Seams/Black on Black

Viewed 5237 times
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo

 
 
About PattiAnnJ star
United States
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/20/09 10:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
I read this somewhere, so it is not my original idea, but today is the first time I have tested it and it really does WORK!

I had to reposition a seam or two in a pair of black slacks and was getting dizzy trying to locate the stitches to remove without gouging the fabric.

Then I remembered ....... RUB CHALK OVER THE STITCHES .... it works like a CHARM!

The stitches were immediately emphasized and quickly removed.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
NanJones said...
Hope I remember this. Black on black is absolutely the worst. It is also hard to thread the needle.
5/20/09 2:52 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Thank you, I will remember thisl.
5/20/09 5:16 PM
mhk3boys said...
Great idea! I will have to try this.
5/20/09 8:06 PM
ryansmumAria said...
love it! I couldhave used this so much if I only knew. Thanks!
5/20/09 11:19 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Thank you so much for sharing! Great tip.
5/21/09 0:51 AM
SandyinMO said...
This will help me so much. With my eyesight, it's almost impossible to see the stitches sometimes.
5/21/09 8:39 AM
chicago said...
Great tip. I have struggled so many times trying to remove stitches from black fabric. Thanks so much.
5/21/09 10:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This is a great idea. The dark stitches are so hard to see. I use soap slivers a lot to mark hems on dark things -betthe soap would work if someone does not have chalk on hand.
5/22/09 7:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.