SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Ripping Seams/Black on Black

Viewed 5258 times
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo

 
 
About PattiAnnJ star
United States
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/20/09 10:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
I read this somewhere, so it is not my original idea, but today is the first time I have tested it and it really does WORK!

I had to reposition a seam or two in a pair of black slacks and was getting dizzy trying to locate the stitches to remove without gouging the fabric.

Then I remembered ....... RUB CHALK OVER THE STITCHES .... it works like a CHARM!

The stitches were immediately emphasized and quickly removed.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
NanJones said...
Hope I remember this. Black on black is absolutely the worst. It is also hard to thread the needle.
5/20/09 2:52 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Thank you, I will remember thisl.
5/20/09 5:16 PM
mhk3boys said...
Great idea! I will have to try this.
5/20/09 8:06 PM
ryansmumAria said...
love it! I couldhave used this so much if I only knew. Thanks!
5/20/09 11:19 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Thank you so much for sharing! Great tip.
5/21/09 0:51 AM
SandyinMO said...
This will help me so much. With my eyesight, it's almost impossible to see the stitches sometimes.
5/21/09 8:39 AM
chicago said...
Great tip. I have struggled so many times trying to remove stitches from black fabric. Thanks so much.
5/21/09 10:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This is a great idea. The dark stitches are so hard to see. I use soap slivers a lot to mark hems on dark things -betthe soap would work if someone does not have chalk on hand.
5/22/09 7:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.