SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > prevent jamming at beginning or end of seams

Viewed 5224 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/24/09 9:58 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
In the garment industry you will find a square of fabric at most sewing machines that is used to start a seam.You sew on the square (start sewing in the centerish of the square) to begin with then you place your garment closely following it so you immediately sew onto it. You are jumping from one seam quickly to an other so you do not have problems with the beginning of the seam jamming or sinking into the the teeth.
I will take a picture to make it more clear.

D

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
maedchen said...
what a great idea! My main beef, fabric being swallowed up when starting to sew, going to put this to work, thank you!
5/24/09 1:58 PM
regine said...
Great idea, thank you so much.
5/24/09 3:21 PM
SewRaeMe said...
I have seen people do this and it just never registered, good idea!
5/24/09 11:58 PM
Elemar said...
This makes perfect sense. I'm trying it today. I'm working on some lightweight fabric and that's a problem area for me.
5/25/09 8:56 AM
Scheryka said...
Great thanks! I've been trying to find another way besides pulling the two threads toward the back at the beginning. I never found a way to end. :0
5/30/09 4:52 PM
KSD said...
Sew simple a solution for a seam in, seam out, dream seam. Thank You
11/29/09 8:22 PM
Nautilus said...
Even after many years of sewing I can still get a "birdsnest" of threads. A good tip that I will use. Thank you
9/23/10 4:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.