SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Easy interfacing

Viewed 5262 times
Posted by: Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewing starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 226
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
tips added: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/25/09 8:47 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I like to use fusible tricot to interface most items. I found that an easy way to interface is what I call laminating. I press the interfacing onto the back of a piece of the fashion fabric large enough to cut out all facings or interfaced items. When thy are cut, they are exactly matched in size since it is cut as one. It is easier than cutting out interfacing individually and the pieces are nice and firm to work with.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Passion4Sewing said...
Carole- I don't trim. The tricot is light enough to not add bulk.
7/5/09 12:07 PM
khunter said...
I love this tip! I love to use that interfacing as well. I'm going to try this in my next project.
6/28/09 10:54 PM
carole said...
What is a clam shell press . I have a steam press is that the same thing ?Also do you leave the same size as pattern piece without trimming off that 1/8 in.the pattern always advise .Does it add to much bulk in the seam area ?
6/24/09 4:41 AM
taylorsi1955 said...
Excellent tip. Thanks!
5/27/09 7:16 PM
nancy2001 said...
I just block fused a jacket, and it is much faster, especially if you use a clam shell press instead of a regular iron.
5/26/09 7:48 AM
puppylove104104 said...
Just so you know, it's an industry method as well - it's called block fusing :)
5/26/09 4:36 AM
HatBuddy said...
What a great idea. Much easier then the piece by piece method. Especially when some pattern pieces can be really small and hard to hold in place to fuse it on without bunring fingers. Such as with sewn hats and Bras etc.
5/25/09 10:14 AM
Restart06 said...
thanks for sharing, I have done this also
5/25/09 9:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

More Info
Candice

Candice

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.