Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cutting Knit Fabrics

Viewed 5838 times
Posted by: Knitters Delight
photo

 
 
About Knitters Delight starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/4/08
Reviews: 128 (tips: 5)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 71 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/28/09 1:39 PM
Last Updated: 2/1/10 12:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I use a rotary mat and rotary cutter to cut my knit fabric pieces. This is typically a quilter's accessory, but works great for me with my clothing projects! With the smooth, sharp, and straight cut I get by using a rotary cutter, I can even get away without hemming some of my knit pieces using this technique.

I use the smooth decoration rocks that people use on the decorative plates that go around candles for my weights. I also have a smaller rotary cutter for the corners, or just use a pair of scissors for that small portion. Works great!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PattiAnnJ said... (6/5/09 5:17 PM) Reply
I have a pair of Belding Corticelli shears for cutting knits that I bought back in the seventies when knit was the rage. They are extremely sharp and so is the rotary cutter. Watch those fingers! If you use the small cutter and a fresh blade you can maneuver the curves. I use weights. I have a good collection, but started with metal washers from the hardware store (wash them when you bring them home as they are a bit oily).
nancy2001 said... (5/31/09 5:45 PM) Reply
I cut everything I sew with a rotary cutter and mat. Scissors are so old fashioned.
mhk3boys said... (5/29/09 1:14 PM) Reply
I love this technique!
chelsy21 said... (5/29/09 12:53 PM) Reply
I use a rotery cutter & mat for all my garment projects. It's more precise & faster. I use pattern weights & just free hand curved & notched areas.
Restart06 said... (5/29/09 7:50 AM) Reply
So do you use weights? A ruler to go around the curves? How do you cut the tabs and other little pieces? Thanks
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.