Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Knit Fabrics (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5476 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Posted by: Knitters Delight
photo
About Knitters Delight starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/4/08
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/28/09 1:39 PM
Last Updated: 2/1/10 12:10 PM
I use a rotary mat and rotary cutter to cut my knit fabric pieces. This is typically a quilter's accessory, but works great for me with my clothing projects! With the smooth, sharp, and straight cut I get by using a rotary cutter, I can even get away without hemming some of my knit pieces using this technique.

I use the smooth decoration rocks that people use on the decorative plates that go around candles for my weights. I also have a smaller rotary cutter for the corners, or just use a pair of scissors for that small portion. Works great!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
So do you use weights? A ruler to go around the curves? How do you cut the tabs and other little pieces? Thanks
5/29/09 7:50 AM
chelsy21 said...
I use a rotery cutter & mat for all my garment projects. It's more precise & faster. I use pattern weights & just free hand curved & notched areas.
5/29/09 12:53 PM
mhk3boys said...
I love this technique!
5/29/09 1:14 PM
nancy2001 said...
I cut everything I sew with a rotary cutter and mat. Scissors are so old fashioned.
5/31/09 5:45 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
I have a pair of Belding Corticelli shears for cutting knits that I bought back in the seventies when knit was the rage. They are extremely sharp and so is the rotary cutter. Watch those fingers! If you use the small cutter and a fresh blade you can maneuver the curves. I use weights. I have a good collection, but started with metal washers from the hardware store (wash them when you bring them home as they are a bit oily).
6/5/09 5:17 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us