SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cutting Knit Fabrics

Viewed 5610 times
Posted by: Knitters Delight
photo

 
 
About Knitters Delight starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/4/08
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/28/09 1:39 PM
Last Updated: 2/1/10 12:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I use a rotary mat and rotary cutter to cut my knit fabric pieces. This is typically a quilter's accessory, but works great for me with my clothing projects! With the smooth, sharp, and straight cut I get by using a rotary cutter, I can even get away without hemming some of my knit pieces using this technique.

I use the smooth decoration rocks that people use on the decorative plates that go around candles for my weights. I also have a smaller rotary cutter for the corners, or just use a pair of scissors for that small portion. Works great!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
So do you use weights? A ruler to go around the curves? How do you cut the tabs and other little pieces? Thanks
5/29/09 7:50 AM
chelsy21 said...
I use a rotery cutter & mat for all my garment projects. It's more precise & faster. I use pattern weights & just free hand curved & notched areas.
5/29/09 12:53 PM
mhk3boys said...
I love this technique!
5/29/09 1:14 PM
nancy2001 said...
I cut everything I sew with a rotary cutter and mat. Scissors are so old fashioned.
5/31/09 5:45 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
I have a pair of Belding Corticelli shears for cutting knits that I bought back in the seventies when knit was the rage. They are extremely sharp and so is the rotary cutter. Watch those fingers! If you use the small cutter and a fresh blade you can maneuver the curves. I use weights. I have a good collection, but started with metal washers from the hardware store (wash them when you bring them home as they are a bit oily).
6/5/09 5:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.