SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Corduroy versus Stretch Corduroy for dresses and skirts

Viewed 5553 times
Posted by: ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmily starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/29/09 10:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I love to wear corduroy skirts and I have made some corduroy dresses for my daughter too. What I have learnt is that 100% cotton non-stretch corduroy makes much nicer, better draping skirts and dresses than stretch corduroy. The stretch fabric often seems thicker and plusher but it just doesn't drape which you really need it too.

Compare these three Muriel farbenmix dresses in the linked photo above. The dark red dress, while very plush and velvety looking really sticks out when worn and is very stiff. The floral print dress is non-stretch and drapes well, which looks much better on.

Compare these two very similar skirts:

Simplicity 4188 in stretch corduroy was a total wadder.
review
photo

McCall 5429 in non-stretch corduroy is a joy to wear.
review
photo

I have learnt this the hard way. So if you want successful corduroy skirts and dresses, forget the stretch!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Thank you, This is certainly useful to know.
6/2/09 9:43 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the tip - I'll remember this when using corduroy.
5/31/09 7:40 PM
ClaireEmily said...
The neckline on the dark red dress is a velvet ribbon. I stitched very carefully on the edge on each side, doing the outside (larger circumference) side first. I have to admit that I was surprised at how flat it sat, the ribbon must have had some give in it.
5/31/09 6:42 PM
grandmasewnsew said...
Thanks for the tip! Please give details on how you did the neck on the red. Is that ribbon? how did you get it so perfect? Thanks.
5/31/09 8:58 AM
Patzee said...
Very counter-intutive. Thanks for the heads-up!
5/30/09 10:50 PM
kerrynw said...
From my experience, I totally agree.
5/30/09 9:04 AM
becca a said...
Thank you for this helpful advice. I hadn't realized that the lycra made such a difference in the drape of the fabric.
5/30/09 8:34 AM
AnnieBanany said...
Thanks, ClaireEmily. Once again, a few pictures are worth thousands of words!
5/30/09 7:57 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
I have not sewn with corduroy in a long time, but when I do again, I will definately choose non-stretch! Thanks for a very helpful tip.
5/30/09 7:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.