SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Altering a RTW bag

Viewed 5281 times
Posted by: creative1
photo

 
 
About creative1 star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/30/09 7:33 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I want to show how easy to alter a RTW bag. It took only a 45 minutes from start to finish!

I had liked this $1 bag from a charity shop because it was soft and a good match to my evening wear. But it was too flashy and big, more like a shopping bag. It was obvious, however, it could be very easy to alter it.

Here what I used for the project (all from my stash):
-a spool of Gutermann upholstery thread ;
-a bobbin with two polyester threads to add durability;
-a 4$ specialty foot for stitching leather, vinyl and etc.;
-Schmetz N.100 leather needle.
photo of accessories

Here is how it was done:

1. To start with, the bottom of the bag was cut off here
2. then the same amount was cut off the lining.
4. The bag is turned inside out, and the bottom of the body is stitched up wrong sides together. here
5. First only the sides and round part of the bottom of the lining was stitches up, again wrong sides together. Then through the remaining unstitched part of the lining the bag was turned out. I creased using my fingers the unstitched portion of the lining and edge stitched it. lining

Here is a beautiful bag to take to any venue:
final look

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
Nice! I love thrift shops, and I never thought of altering a purse! I'll be looking in the purse section with new eyes.
5/30/09 10:45 PM
Patzee said...
Your version is sooo much nicer! Thanks for the tip.
5/31/09 1:19 AM
Renee' S said...
Your bag turned out really nice and what a great way to recycle. Maybe you could use the piece cut off the bottom to make a matching zipper pouch or a cell phone case. Thank you for posting this tip and your technique.
5/31/09 10:18 AM
creative1 said...
Thanks for nice comments! Renee, good thinking, I'll certainly keep the cut piece and make, perhaps, a case for my reading glasses, as there is a little compartment for mobiles inside the bag.
5/31/09 11:39 PM
kathi s said...
Wow, great job! I have an expensive leather backpack that is useless to me because the magnetic clasp does not keep it closed. I found a site on line that sell different closures and I am encouraged by your example to see if I can replace that stupid weak magnet with a more secure closure.
5/31/09 11:45 PM
creative1 said...
Kathi, is it possible to reinforce the 'stupid' magnetic clasp by gluing to it an additional flat-shaped magnet of a similar diameter from inside the bag? Just a thought...
6/1/09 5:09 AM
creative1 said...
Kathi, will it be possible to reinforce the 'stupid magnetic clasp' by gluing to it an additional flat-shaped magnet of a similar diameter from inside the bag? Just a thought...
6/1/09 5:11 AM
Grammy Gin said...
So clever of you!
6/2/09 10:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.