SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > lingerie guards

Viewed 5948 times
Posted by: Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale C starstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/23/03 8:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Here's an easy tip to help keep those bra straps hidden when wearing tanks or sleeveless garments.

Cut a strip of 1/4" wide ribbon (twill tape would do as well) the width of your shoulder seam measurement. Fold over and finish both ends. Secure one side in the armhole at the top of the shoulder. You can easily do this when you finish the edge, whether it's folded over and sewn or bias trimmed. With facings you might want to hand-tack.

On the other end, sew the snap. Then secure the other half of the snap to the shoulder seam allowances near the neckline. Measure first of course, you don't want to make it too short.

That should keep those straps in place. It also helps keep a wide neckline from slipping off your shoulders.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Penny Carlson said...
Thank goodness I'm not the only female left who prefers her bra straps not to show! But seriously, this also helps keep your dress or top situated correctly on your shoulders. Great tip!
6/24/03 2:10 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Nice tip Dale, I can't think of too many 'ticky-tacky' things that are as annoying fashionwise. To think all these years I've been doing it with small safety pins!
6/25/03 9:58 AM
els said...
The advantage of making your own lingerie quards is that you can match the colour of the quards with the garment and not only use the black and white ones which are available in the notion departements
6/26/03 9:24 PM
Gillian said...
This is brilliant! It would be great for some RTW items as well.
7/10/03 2:23 PM
Bobbi said...
Great advice!
12/21/03 10:21 AM
CindyP said...
Thank you SO MUCH for the tip! For years I've struggled to keep the left bra strap from slipping down my arm due to scoliosis. I'm so excited to find this tip!
5/17/04 6:04 AM
Diana M said...
Ditto to what everyone else has said -- great tip, will try it out tomorrow!
7/15/04 0:31 AM
Blanca said...
I can see that my high school sewing teacher was right, it is a great idea! Still going strong.
10/2/04 10:42 PM
aneri_masi said...
I have a similar technique for hiding those straps. I have a lot of RTW that need this, and its not always possible to put in the tape, so I use thread instead. Here's a picture: Thread and snap Another one with the strap 'Captured' strap
1/23/05 5:45 PM
mClones said...
Thanks for the very useful and timely tip, Dale. And for the thread version as well, aneri_masi!
1/24/05 10:34 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Aneri_masi: can you tell me how to make that thread chain? Thanks!
10/24/10 9:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.