SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Quickly cool a hot iron.

Viewed 5358 times
Posted by: BrianSews
photo

 
 
About BrianSews starstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/9/09 4:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
My iron tends to over shoot the heat setting when I first turn it on and I've scorched or melted many projects before I figured out this technique. This also works well for quickly changing heat settings from cotton to synthetic.

I use the burst of steam function which works like a charm to remove excess heat from the iron. Simple right?

I used to use a damp terry cloth towel as a heat sink but found this is much more effective and less messy. I still iron a damp towel to easily and effectively remove starch buildup though!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
flossbob said...
Smart tip! Thanks
6/15/09 4:50 AM
flossbob said...
Smart tip! Thanks
6/15/09 4:47 AM
katie lynne said...
Thanks RocketBoy! Great practical ideas. You're a gem.
6/14/09 8:16 PM
ryansmumAria said...
great idea about the damp towel for starch removal - I will use it. thanks
6/12/09 11:55 PM
marycds said...
I like the starch removal idea. My iron seems to be a starch magnet! Thanks.
6/10/09 3:51 PM
nancy2001 said...
That's a hot idea, Rocketboy! But for a moment, I thought you were going to recommend that we cool our irons in the freezer...LOL.
6/10/09 8:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

More Info
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.