SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Books in Libraries

Viewed 5187 times
Posted by: NanJones
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About NanJones
TX USA
Member since: 10/16/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/14/09 1:11 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
If your library is small, like mine, they may not carry many sewing books. As a matter of fact, mine had exactly one for a long time and it was very old. One day, I don't remember how long ago it was, I stopped at the front desk and requested that they get some modern up to date books. This week I got a call saying that I had a book waiting for me. This was in response to my request. They now have about 10 sewing books.
The morale of this is: Speak up if you library doesn't carry many sewing books, they might surprise you.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
What a great tip. How great that your library responded to your request. And perhaps some library patrons will be inspired to take up sewing.
6/14/09 2:02 PM
Nancywin said...
Good tip. Our library doesn't carry many sewing books at all. I may do the same.
6/14/09 5:45 PM
geeklite said...
As a librarian, I can confirm that requests from patrons carry weight with us. If money is available, and the request isn't too "out-there" most libraries will try to make you happy.
6/14/09 8:37 PM
Rebecca Szetela said...
This is a great tip. Good for you for speaking up! We are fortunate to be a part of a library network where if our library does not have a book you want you can usually order it online from another library in the network and it arrives at our library in a matter of days. I assumed that all of the libraries in the US were connected this way. You might want to ask your librarian about it. I have "tried out" many books recommended here on PR by ordering them through the network first to see if they were worth buying or just a quick read.
6/15/09 6:51 AM
NC Carol said...
Many public libraries have "Inter-Library Loan" whereby they can borrow books from other libraries on your behalf. For example, my library in Mobile (Ala) didn't have the last of the Barsetshire Chronicles but they got it on ILL from Auburn University's library for me.
6/15/09 10:41 AM
NanJones said...
My library does have inter-library loans but isn't it nice to be able to go and get the book you want right away. I have had to wait up to a month for a inter-library loan book.
6/15/09 10:29 PM
BrianSews said...
Many libraries also have online catalog systems now. With your library card you can log on from home, search for materials and request items to be picked up at your local branch. I get an e-mail when my books are ready for pickup. I can also renew items online. I almost never browse the actual shelves anymore.
6/17/09 8:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.