SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > RSS Reader for Sewing Blogs

Viewed 5184 times
Posted by: SewSara
photo

 
 
About SewSara star
SK CANADA
Member since: 4/1/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/16/09 8:28 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I had so many sewing blogs bookmarked that I couldn't keep up with them all. I would always come across some really useful information that I would never be able to find again. I decided to use a feed reader to subscribe to only sewing/fashion blogs - I chose Google Reader in Firefox, but there are many others.

Now, I can easily bookmark tutorials or helpful pattern information (star) and there is a search bar that allows you to search all your blogs or just one specific blog for keywords. You can also tag posts and search for items that way. It has a new post count beside each blog's title, so you know who has updated. It's a great additional resource that lessens time wasted on the internet that could be better spent sewing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
THANK YOU , THANK YOU , THANK YOU I had no ideas something so wonderful exsisted. This is by far, one of the best tips EVER.
6/16/09 11:40 AM
chacha45 said...
Wow! Thanks! I'm off to use it!
6/16/09 11:11 PM
Charrlie said...
I am not sure what a blog is. ai know what a bookmark is but, don't know how to do it on this site. Thanks for any comments
6/17/09 0:51 AM
Charrlie said...
I am not sure what a blog is. ai know what a bookmark is but, don't know how to do it on this site. Thanks for any comments
6/17/09 0:52 AM
HeyJane said...
Great idea...anything to save time for sewing!
6/17/09 7:44 AM
Catbird said...
THANK YOU!!! This is something I wasn't aware of and it's exactly what I need.
6/17/09 8:07 AM
LynnG said...
I agree, this is a fabulous tip. I've checked out the Google Reader and I see that it will be very useful. Thank You!
6/17/09 9:36 AM
SG1 said...
Great tip! It just occurred to me that the sewing crowd doesn't necessarily intersect with the computer crowd (I'm new to the former, ancient in the latter), and not everybody would know about RSS feeds.
6/17/09 9:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.