SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Buy Sewing VHS/Videos from Library Sales. Outdated technology, Priceless Info.

Viewed 5329 times
Posted by: chloeE
photo

 
 
About chloeE star
MO USA
Member since: 6/5/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/24/09 1:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
I love book sales/tag sales/flea markets. Enough said. I came across a library sale and discovered Margaret Islander and Nancy Zieman sewing VHS tapes for $1 each. The information is good but the technology is out of date

I had long ago gotten rid of my VHS player, but after purchasing the videos from the library sale, I found a SONY TV (estate sale) with a built in VHS tape player ($20, included the remote). It is the perfect size in my sewing room, no more taking up the family room TV.

The technology of VHS tapes and analog TV are out of favor, but the information is still invaluable. You can take advantage of the "upgrading" from libraries and people getting rid of their VHS players and have the very best of sewing information for not much $$. (granted, you have to go hunting)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
And, you can get a combo DVD/VHS for very little these days and add it to a small TV. Nothing wrong with videotapes, and a lot of libraries are getting rid of them, not to mention individuals! I see DVDs in garage sales already.
6/24/09 4:01 PM
catsmeow said...
I purchased two videos by Margaret Islander on Shirtmaking for WAY less than the same DVDs cost. The tapes were purchased through Ebay so I didn't get as good a deal as you did, but the information on the tapes is wonderful. Even though we've gone mostly digital (the TV is analog with a box), I still kept my VHS player.
6/24/09 4:48 PM
sixcatsterry said...
islander site got rid of their old vhs tapes and i got quite a few. Also go some on ebay. Knowledge is knowledge in any format. Just keep that vhs tape player in good shape. I know I am getting older and maybe a little set in my ways. I have 1000 albums and I am still listening to them. I now have a set up to start burning CD's of them.(why buy all new) Boy!! do I sound like my grandparents use to.
6/25/09 3:22 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a find!
6/25/09 11:10 AM
Patzee said...
If you have a VHS player, a computer that can burn DVDs and a USB port, it's very easy and inexpensive to convert your VHS tapes to DVDs (both under $50.00) Two available products: Easy VHS to DVD www.roxio.com Dazzle www.pinnaclesys.com Read the requirements carefully.
6/26/09 1:15 PM
chloeE said...
THX patzee. great info, I'll look into it pronto, didn't know I had this capability. i have both roxio and a Mac. When I figure it out, I'll be REALLY happy!!
6/26/09 3:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.