SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Stabilize fabric for cutting and sewing with FREEZER PAPER

Viewed 6704 times
Posted by: czumbro
photo

 
 
About czumbro
Member since: 6/22/09
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/25/09 1:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
I have always struggled with cutting my fabrics precisely - somewhere between tracing the tissue patterns and cutting the fabric I find I go astray in a way that becomes very noticeable when I go to sew my mis-matched pieces together! So now I simply lay a sheet of freezer paper over the tissue pattern with the plastic side down, trace the appropriate lines onto the paper side of the freezer paper, which is the side facing up, then I iron that freezer paper directly onto the wrong side of my fabric and I cut along the traced lines! No shifting patterns while tracing, no shifting fabric while cutting. The freezer paper peels easily away when you are done cutting. AND as an added bonus, with trickier, slinkier fabrics i somtimes just leave the freezer paper in place and sew right through it!! Works like an utter charm. The stitches act to perforate the paper and it can easily be removed afterwards, although you may need to tweezer off some of the little shreds. It's very much like ripping loose leaf paper out of a notebook.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jeanharville said...
This sounds interesting especially for the slippery fabrics. Since I trace my patterns any way, it sure won't hurt to give it a try. Thanks for the tip
6/25/09 4:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
I absolutely agree with you on the freezer paper thing. I always have some on hand for sewing. In fact, one of my fave recent uses was to create a lace insert in a halter that was too low for my daughter at the CF. I used the freezer paper on the stretchy lace just like you do, then stitched the v-insert piece (with freezer paper attached!) to the halter front. Peel it away and Presto! Looked good at first stitching with no issues.
6/26/09 6:39 AM
LynnG said...
You are able to see the tissue pattern through the freezer paper? I have a big roll of paper from a meat cutter. I don't think I could see through it. Are there different weights of paper?
6/26/09 10:35 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW - this is BRILLIANT! I'm thinking of all the impossible fabrics to cut - silkies, chiffon. THANK YOU!!!!!!
6/27/09 4:09 AM
SandyS said...
@LynnG -- I think this reviewer is referring to the kind of freezer paper that has a plastic coating on one side. It's not transparent like artists' tracing paper, but you can see through it. My mother would get butcher's paper, which came in a roll that was about 2 feet wide and maybe a foot in diameter. That was plain paper without the plastic coating. Is that what you have? We used it to trace patterns, but I thought it was hard work.
7/14/09 9:11 AM
lynnewill said...
Thank you for this tip. I used it recently to help a beginner student make a mans tie. Using the paper on the tie silk made cutting on the bias much easier. We also marked her sewing lines on the paper and stitched through as you suggested helping to stabilize the bias as well. We were both very pleased with the results which eliminated much of the typical frustration you would encounter on a project like this.
7/29/09 8:54 AM
cousue said...
I learned to use freezer paper last spring when I cut silk organza for the first time. Some people think that it distorts the fabric, but it's the only method that works for me and I've had good luck so far.
7/29/09 11:30 PM
psychonurse said...
How do I use a multi size pattern correctly? i currently used a size 4 but the hwole pattern goes form a size 3 to 8. I find it very difficult to cut the correct size and leave the " future" sizes in place. any suggestions?
2/18/10 11:13 AM
FionaC said...
What a great tip, BUT, for those of us who don't live in the US and have avoided all the slinky fabric in our stash, what is "freezer paper" and what is it traditionally used for - so I can acquire some here in Oz.
6/27/10 4:08 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Fiona-freezer paper is used to wrap food and prevent freezer burn in the freezer. I bought a big roll @ wal-mart for only a few dollars (don't know what kind if stores you have where you live) it is usually found with the aluminum foil and plastic wrap. Works GREAT for me! Hope this helps. :-)
9/20/10 7:04 PM
HRS0401ECU said...
GENIUS!!!! U just saved me... Welll let's just saved me about a yard of fabric cuz I usually have to re Ur atleast 2 pieces. Omg. I'm so excited
5/5/11 11:20 PM
VanessaJ said...
FionaC - I've bought freezer paper in Spotlight (you need to ask - it's behind the counter); worth trying quilting shops also (used for paper piecing intricate designs). Good luck!
5/13/12 5:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.