Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Stabilize fabric for cutting and sewing with FREEZER PAPER (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6163 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
Posted by: czumbro
photo
About czumbro
Member since: 6/22/09
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/25/09 1:45 PM
I have always struggled with cutting my fabrics precisely - somewhere between tracing the tissue patterns and cutting the fabric I find I go astray in a way that becomes very noticeable when I go to sew my mis-matched pieces together! So now I simply lay a sheet of freezer paper over the tissue pattern with the plastic side down, trace the appropriate lines onto the paper side of the freezer paper, which is the side facing up, then I iron that freezer paper directly onto the wrong side of my fabric and I cut along the traced lines! No shifting patterns while tracing, no shifting fabric while cutting. The freezer paper peels easily away when you are done cutting. AND as an added bonus, with trickier, slinkier fabrics i somtimes just leave the freezer paper in place and sew right through it!! Works like an utter charm. The stitches act to perforate the paper and it can easily be removed afterwards, although you may need to tweezer off some of the little shreds. It's very much like ripping loose leaf paper out of a notebook.
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jeanharville said...
This sounds interesting especially for the slippery fabrics. Since I trace my patterns any way, it sure won't hurt to give it a try. Thanks for the tip
6/25/09 4:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
I absolutely agree with you on the freezer paper thing. I always have some on hand for sewing. In fact, one of my fave recent uses was to create a lace insert in a halter that was too low for my daughter at the CF. I used the freezer paper on the stretchy lace just like you do, then stitched the v-insert piece (with freezer paper attached!) to the halter front. Peel it away and Presto! Looked good at first stitching with no issues.
6/26/09 6:39 AM
LynnG said...
You are able to see the tissue pattern through the freezer paper? I have a big roll of paper from a meat cutter. I don't think I could see through it. Are there different weights of paper?
6/26/09 10:35 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW - this is BRILLIANT! I'm thinking of all the impossible fabrics to cut - silkies, chiffon. THANK YOU!!!!!!
6/27/09 4:09 AM
SandyS said...
@LynnG -- I think this reviewer is referring to the kind of freezer paper that has a plastic coating on one side. It's not transparent like artists' tracing paper, but you can see through it. My mother would get butcher's paper, which came in a roll that was about 2 feet wide and maybe a foot in diameter. That was plain paper without the plastic coating. Is that what you have? We used it to trace patterns, but I thought it was hard work.
7/14/09 9:11 AM
lynnewill said...
Thank you for this tip. I used it recently to help a beginner student make a mans tie. Using the paper on the tie silk made cutting on the bias much easier. We also marked her sewing lines on the paper and stitched through as you suggested helping to stabilize the bias as well. We were both very pleased with the results which eliminated much of the typical frustration you would encounter on a project like this.
7/29/09 8:54 AM
cousue said...
I learned to use freezer paper last spring when I cut silk organza for the first time. Some people think that it distorts the fabric, but it's the only method that works for me and I've had good luck so far.
7/29/09 11:30 PM
psychonurse said...
How do I use a multi size pattern correctly? i currently used a size 4 but the hwole pattern goes form a size 3 to 8. I find it very difficult to cut the correct size and leave the " future" sizes in place. any suggestions?
2/18/10 11:13 AM
FionaC said...
What a great tip, BUT, for those of us who don't live in the US and have avoided all the slinky fabric in our stash, what is "freezer paper" and what is it traditionally used for - so I can acquire some here in Oz.
6/27/10 4:08 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Fiona-freezer paper is used to wrap food and prevent freezer burn in the freezer. I bought a big roll @ wal-mart for only a few dollars (don't know what kind if stores you have where you live) it is usually found with the aluminum foil and plastic wrap. Works GREAT for me! Hope this helps. :-)
9/20/10 7:04 PM
HRS0401ECU said...
GENIUS!!!! U just saved me... Welll let's just saved me about a yard of fabric cuz I usually have to re Ur atleast 2 pieces. Omg. I'm so excited
5/5/11 11:20 PM
VanessaJ said...
FionaC - I've bought freezer paper in Spotlight (you need to ask - it's behind the counter); worth trying quilting shops also (used for paper piecing intricate designs). Good luck!
5/13/12 5:11 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us