SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > A way to mark right and wrong sides of fabric

Viewed 5453 times
Posted by: ClaireF in CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ClaireF in CA star
CA USA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/27/09 1:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Over time, I've tried many different ways of marking the right and wrong sides of fabric after the pattern pieces have been cut out. Safety pins, chalk, etc., all have been lacking.

While cutting the pattern for my last project, I tried using some leftover blue painter's tape from a Home Dec project. The tape sticks very well and is easy to write on. When you pull it off, it leaves no residue, and doesn't harm the fabric.
(I used Scotch-Blue Painter's Tape-3M).

Update 7/7/09) - in response to regine's comment - I called 3M today for more information about this product. They said" this tape has a special release agent added to the adhesive, and it is NOT masking tape. You should be able to leave it on for 14 days without damage to the surface."

I've posted a picture of my Molly cat helping me sew the Amy Butler Frenchy Bag. You can see that she's laying on the cut out pieces marked with the blue tape! A roll of this tape is on my cutting table now, with other indispensible notions!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
maedchen said...
great idea, I am going to try this! Thanks
6/27/09 8:32 AM
svetlana said...
The blue painters tape works well or butchers tape (at least that's what my friend calls it) like they use at the dry cleaners. Since we are often making multiples of the same garment (we sew for color guards) we will also use the tape to mark the name of the intended wearer or which way is up on some shaded pieces.
6/27/09 10:33 AM
j222b said...
Cute picture, good tip.
6/27/09 12:44 PM
Patzee said...
I like this idea. It's quick and very visible. Thanks!
6/27/09 11:08 PM
KempCorr said...
Be sure the tape is on the right side so it doesn't get enclosed in the finished garmet -- (don't ask me how I know about this)
6/28/09 7:48 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thanks for this great reminder. I often don't do this become I'm in a rush, however, with alot of knits, I end up sewing them inside out which costs me lots of time. I hit myself in the head for being so unorganized. i have to make alot of labels for projects and I finally just made a page of labels for sewing that says - front piece back piece , sleeve front - I use it for a particular top that I make alot of and the front is almost identical to the back.
6/28/09 4:56 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
I'm so glad that you all thought this tip was one that you could use! I don't have the greatest light in the evening in my sewing room, and it was driving me crazy trying to determine right from wrong side- especially on very dark or knit fabrics! Like ryansmom, I've made the mistake of sewing the wrong side out! BTW for those of you who haven't tried the tape, it's basically like a paper tape. Painters use it along the wall corners, and then remove it after the paint dries. It leaves no residue and doesn't lift up the finish. KempCorr, I remove the tape as I sew the garment pieces together...that eliminates the problem of sewing them into the garment! Once there is a seam, you know which is the wrong side! :) :)
6/28/09 5:28 PM
Charrlie said...
Thank you. I think I will get some, or second thought I may have some.
6/29/09 0:48 AM
regine said...
I live in South Africa and we call it masking tape. Have been using it for some time and it works very well. Just to make sure that I am using it on the correct side of the fabric I sometimes write on the tape e.g. "right side".
7/6/09 10:40 AM
ClaireF in CA said...
regine - we have masking tape in the states, too! I called 3M to check on this tape and this is what they told me..."our tape is NOT masking tape, but has a special release agent added in with the adhesive. You should be about to leave it on for 14 days without any damage to the surface." To me, this tape is kind of like a super "post-it" note. When I stick a piece on the fabric, I write "wrong" or "right" on it. I'm sewing some pants now, so I write "front right" and "front wrong", etc. I'm always getting the fronts and backs mixed up! Thanks so much for your comment! :)
7/7/09 4:06 PM
Stitchcakes said...
You can also get dry cleaner's tape in different colors from places like Cleaner's Supply online. The cleaners/tailers use it to mark where repairs, stains need to be addressed on garments, so it is made for temporary fabric marking applications.
7/27/09 11:58 AM
ClaireF in CA said...
Thanks for the tip, Stitchcakes! :)
7/28/09 2:48 PM
ClaireF in CA said...

7/28/09 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.