SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > A Simple Way to Fuse Interfacing

Viewed 6206 times
Posted by: monijo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About monijo star
NIGERIA
Member since: 7/5/08
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/9/09 10:38 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
A SIMPLE WAY TO FUSE INTERFACING


Avoid mis-matched edges when applying fusible interfacing. Either fuse the cut out interfacing to the uncut fabric or fuse uncut interfacing to uncut fabric (known as block fusing). The grainline will not be distorted.


Interfacing Cut Out and Fused to Uncut Fabric

1. Use the pattern to cut interfacing.
2. Fuse the cut out interfacing to the fabric.
3. Then, cut around it.

(Threads magazine)


Block Fusing

1. Place pattern section on fabric.
2. Mark a 1/2 inch border on all sides that is larger than the pattern piece. Do not follow the exact shape of the pattern.
3. Cut the fabric along the border.
4. Cut a piece of interfacing that is the same size. You can make it a little smaller so that the ironing board and soleplate will not "gunk up".
5. Fuse interfacing to fabric.
6. Place pattern back on the fused fabric and cut. All edges will be even.

(Threads magazine)




<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
interesting! i always forget to 'block fuse.' i love the idea of fusing the cut interfacing to the uncut FF - it would never have occurred to me to do that, but it sounds brilliant! thanks for posting :)
7/11/09 1:57 AM
monijo said...
Patti Palmer in her interview with Deepika, describes how to cut the interfacing so that it will be about 1/4 inch smaller than the fabric piece. I tried to visualize her method just now using two post-it notes. If I understand her correctly, you should cut the top and right side first. Then slide the pattern up and cut the bottom. After that, slide the pattern over 5/8 inch and cut the left side. Using the post-it notes, I get a note that is about 1/4 inch smaller in width and length. I think that if you are sewing a heavy fabric and need to eliminate bulk in the seams, Patti Palmer's suggestion would serve perfectly. However, I don't think this needs to be done on light or medium weight fabrics. Also, with the changes that have been made in fusibles, I don't really think it would need to be done at all.
7/10/09 11:26 PM
monijo said...
Patti Palmer in her interview with Deepika, describes how to cut the interfacing so that it will be about 1/4 inch smaller than the fabric piece. I tried to visualize her method just now using two post-it notes. If I understand her correctly, you should cut the top and right side first. Then slide the pattern up and cut the bottom. After that, slide the pattern over 5/8 inch and cut the left side. Using the post-it notes, I get a note that is about 1/4 inch smaller in width and length. I think that if you are sewing a heavy fabric and need to eliminate bulk in the seams, Patti Palmer's suggestion would serve perfectly. However, I don't think this needs to be done on light or medium weight fabrics. Also, with the changes that have been made in fusibles, I don't really think it would need to be done at all.
7/10/09 11:26 PM
Sadlesor said...
Depends on the weight of the interfacing. So are so lightweight these days that do not add any noticeable bulk to the seam.
7/10/09 11:40 AM
Sadlesor said...
Depends on the weight of the interfacing. Some are so lightweight these days that do not add any noticeable bulk to the seam.
7/10/09 11:39 AM
nonnasgift said...
I'm a bit confused because I thought fusible interfacing is cut smaller than the pattern piece, so it isn't in the seamline.
7/10/09 8:25 AM
nancy2001 said...
Interesting.
7/10/09 7:23 AM
Charrlie said...
Thanks I have not heard of block fusing
7/10/09 1:16 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I never thought to cut out interfacing and fuse it to uncut fabric - very interesting.
7/9/09 10:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.