SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > PR CLASSES & Shannon Gifford - Build a Better _____

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5297 times
Posted by: KempCorr
photo

 
 
About KempCorr star
Member since: 12/21/06
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
classes reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/14/09 9:09 AM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: Build Better PANTS
I've taken several of Shannon's classes. She does a great job of explaining techniques, and was extremely patient answering questions from a few class members. However, she tends to promise more than she actually delivers, and despite several follow-ups she has never delivered three of the things she promised during the Better Pants class. In addition, unless you remeber to "bookmark" the pages, and separately save or print-out all the lessons, chats and key materials from the boards, Deepika deletes the link from your account page and you don't have access to the materials after the class ends. One of my prior classes was added to my topic tracker upon my request, but another was not.

Given the price of the PR classes verses a couple good books, in the future I intend to purchase the books.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sewnla said...
Have you tried contacting Shannon through her website? I have taken many classes from Shannon and she has always encourage those of us who needed more help after the class had ended to contact her. Also I always print out the class pages and put them in a binder so I have a "textbook" from the class to refer back to. She is an excellent teacher and as you also commented so very patient, she always made us feel welcomed to ask questions. Do contact her, she will respond.
7/15/09 1:12 AM
KempCorr said...
I followed up with Shannon several times before posting the review. Also, if I have to create my own text, the cost and inconvenience goes up as the self-printed materials are not indexed unless I do it and I don't have a color printer, so the illustrations are less helpful. Net, net, I think purchasing a couple books is a better value. Others may feel differently.
7/15/09 8:28 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I'm sorry your experience was disappointing. Mine have been very very rewarding, and I have eagerly signed up for a fourth class with her. I have always downloaded the classes, chats and the class boards. One advantage to having the lessons in pdf format is that they become searchable, which to me is better than having an index at the back of a book. I am sure that some people are able to read books and get just as much out of them as I got out of Shannon's classes, but I am not one of them. Especially at the beginning, I guessed wrong about what sorts of adjustments were needed to my muslins. On my own, I think I would have given up in frustration. But with her prompt and expert feedback I learned how to fit myself. I'm still at the beginning, of course, but am on the right track. Again, I'm very sorry your experience was not as happy as mine.
7/15/09 10:30 AM
Mufffet said...
I have taken five of Shannon's classes, and she has been wonderful. I am so sorry you feel this way. Did you email Shannon with your questions and concerns? She is a very warm and responsive person. Funny you should mention the indexing - I type up a table of contents for each class if needed, and have done so with other online classes I have taken.
7/15/09 11:48 AM
dbsewer said...
In my experience the lessons and other materials stay on the site for a couple of weeks after. Sorry this didn't happen for you but you should contact Deepika and let her know because there's no reason for you to have your access removed. I agree there should be a direct link to your class materials, though, as it can be tricky to track down. I always print out materials and even the chats if they've been helpful. A hard copy is what I refer to when the class ends. Sorry this was not a good experience for you but I do appreciate your honest comments.
8/10/09 8:03 AM
GrammaSewn said...
I am sorry that is what happened with your class. I too,took a class with Shannon and agree that she did a great job of explaining etc. However she too promised to get me a good fitting jacket bodice. I fell ill and was behind. I contacted her and she said that was no problem just to catch up by doing what was expected with pictures sent to her etc and she would comment and get me caught up. I did as asked and waited, and waited, and waited. Contacted her twice then let it go.
10/29/09 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.