SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stretch Piping for knits

Viewed 5576 times
Posted by: okie2thdoc
photo

 
 
About okie2thdoc star
KS USA
Member since: 9/20/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/18/09 2:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Stretch piping can be added to finish the edges of knit. Slightly stretch the piping using a piping foot and short stitch length to apply the piping. Don't over-stretch- pin at intervals to prevent overstretching and puckering.

At the end, cross-over the end toward the edge of the garment as seen in the photo.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tov said...
This is very timely. Thanks. I've recently acquired a bit of strech piping and was having difficulty applying it.
7/19/09 12:28 PM
nancy2001 said...
Interesting tip. But where do you find stretch piping? Can you make it yourself? If so what do you use as the cording?
7/20/09 8:47 AM
SunFlowers said...
I was also wondering where she finds Stretch Piping. I did a Google search and I came across this site : http://www.zoelees.com/products/Notions_Trims.htm . If anyone knows another one, please, let us know ;-)) Tks
7/20/09 9:44 AM
jilly cooper said...
I bought some at Spotlight (in Australia), but there were only a few colours. Cheap as chips.
7/21/09 9:43 AM
Tov said...
I purchased stretch piping from Sew Sassy. (sewsassy.com) Viv
7/22/09 1:41 AM
solosmocker said...
Is this piping with cord?
7/27/09 10:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.