SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stretch Piping for knits

Viewed 5713 times
Posted by: okie2thdoc
photo

 
 
About okie2thdoc star
KS USA
Member since: 9/20/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/18/09 2:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Stretch piping can be added to finish the edges of knit. Slightly stretch the piping using a piping foot and short stitch length to apply the piping. Don't over-stretch- pin at intervals to prevent overstretching and puckering.

At the end, cross-over the end toward the edge of the garment as seen in the photo.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Is this piping with cord?
7/27/09 10:30 PM
Tov said...
I purchased stretch piping from Sew Sassy. (sewsassy.com) Viv
7/22/09 1:41 AM
jilly cooper said...
I bought some at Spotlight (in Australia), but there were only a few colours. Cheap as chips.
7/21/09 9:43 AM
SunFlowers said...
I was also wondering where she finds Stretch Piping. I did a Google search and I came across this site : http://www.zoelees.com/products/Notions_Trims.htm . If anyone knows another one, please, let us know ;-)) Tks
7/20/09 9:44 AM
nancy2001 said...
Interesting tip. But where do you find stretch piping? Can you make it yourself? If so what do you use as the cording?
7/20/09 8:47 AM
Tov said...
This is very timely. Thanks. I've recently acquired a bit of strech piping and was having difficulty applying it.
7/19/09 12:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

More Info
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.