SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > pattern markings

Viewed 5233 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/31/09 6:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This idea is late in coming - why I didn't think to do this decades ago baffles me.
I often miss a lot of those pattern markings that make sewing a pain and yet makes putting together a garment so much easier.

I took a highlighter and marked the squares, circles and triangles so I could find them easier. I colored them in after I cut the pattern pieces out and before I placed them on the fabric.

WOW! That really makes a difference as they are now demanding to be paid attention to. I either french tack them, or chalk/ink them or ignore them(lazy moments).

You could color coordinate them if your one of those extremely meticulous types and lot's of stitchers are!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I stand corrected-
Thank you! You're right -it's a tailor tack not french tack.
Thanks for the translation....


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sewnsewmom said...
Great idea!
8/1/09 0:04 AM
petro said...
Good idea. When I draft a 'proper' pattern, I tend to number my balance marks, so that 1 goes to 1 , 2 goes to 2 etc. This is partly so I don't get lost in the drafting process when its a complicated piece, but mainly so I can remember how the bits go together when I come back to an old pattern. Its especially useful when the pattern pieces end up a strange, unrecognisable shape because of drapes or shape lines.
8/1/09 4:46 AM
kws said...
excellent idea
8/1/09 8:57 AM
monijo said...
And they say you can't teach and old dog new tricks. Well, I have learned something today. Thanks!
8/1/09 11:09 AM
Stilltheone said...
Great idea!!! Thanks.
8/1/09 12:07 PM
Charrlie said...
What is french tack?
8/1/09 3:24 PM
katie lynne said...
Thanks for this Lightbulb Moment! I can't wait to try it! Charrlie, I think what ryansmum really meant is to use a tailors' tack to mark where the symbols fall. :o) Here's a good online resource to look sewing techniques up: http://www.vintagesewing.info/1910s/17-ad/ad-09.html#lesson221.
8/1/09 4:56 PM
Charrlie said...
Thank you so much katie lynne
8/2/09 2:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.