SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern alteration meets Glad Press n Seal

Viewed 5469 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/1/09 8:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Laziness wins again. I was using my kitchen counter to trace and alter a pattern, and when I got to the part where I needed to fill in a slash-and-move alteration, my eyes wandered to a half-opened drawer. The Press 'n Seal dared me to try it. I tore off a strip of it, pressed it against the gaping wound in the pattern. It stuck quite nicely. Another strip of it stuck on the back side of the pattern keeps the Press 'n Seal from sticking to other things when the pattern is folded. It might be a good idea reinforce the patch with a couple pieces of tape, but I don't want to rush into anything. ;-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KathySews said...
just had another battle with my pattern, namely fba, and ran across this tip. most excellent! thanks
11/23/10 7:57 AM
TerriW said...
Great idea!! Will try to remember.
8/18/09 7:56 PM
MaddyGranMa said...
I love this! Let's all look around for those things we already have that are crossover possibilities for sewing! Super!
8/8/09 10:20 AM
glenj said...
great idea.Australia only got press and seal about a year ago,I bought a couple from the ONLY store that sold it (Coles)grocery shop.now it is gone again,so now I'm very careful with my use of it as I know I won't be able to get more.
8/5/09 8:47 AM
Kathi R said...
Great idea -- I bought that stuff for sewing and found that it works in the kitchen too!
8/3/09 2:35 PM
Pinkhouselady said...
Great idea! I love innovation
8/2/09 3:00 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I've also been using this for pattern adjustments. It's sooo much easier than using up all that tape. You are right about reinforcing it. I'm finding that it doesn't always stick permanently to the pattern paper.
8/2/09 12:07 PM
beth5646 said...
I love it!!!
8/2/09 11:36 AM
Patti B said...
Don't you love it when our household supplies dare us to find new uses for them? Clever girl!
8/2/09 9:30 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great tip! My kids are always using up my scotch tape so this will come in really handy in a pinch!
8/2/09 9:24 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Karla..what a GREAT idea! ...I've used it in the sewing room for other things, but would have NEVER thought of this...brilliant!
8/2/09 8:44 AM
Maripat said...
Love that!! I'm going to try it on my muslin today too. I was putting off patching a piece that I cut too short.
8/2/09 8:32 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Very clever. Thanks for sharing!
8/2/09 6:53 AM
mhk3boys said...
What a great idea! I will have to try it also!
8/1/09 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.