SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Pattern alteration meets Glad Press n Seal

Viewed 5400 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/1/09 8:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Laziness wins again. I was using my kitchen counter to trace and alter a pattern, and when I got to the part where I needed to fill in a slash-and-move alteration, my eyes wandered to a half-opened drawer. The Press 'n Seal dared me to try it. I tore off a strip of it, pressed it against the gaping wound in the pattern. It stuck quite nicely. Another strip of it stuck on the back side of the pattern keeps the Press 'n Seal from sticking to other things when the pattern is folded. It might be a good idea reinforce the patch with a couple pieces of tape, but I don't want to rush into anything. ;-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
What a great idea! I will have to try it also!
8/1/09 10:32 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Very clever. Thanks for sharing!
8/2/09 6:53 AM
Maripat said...
Love that!! I'm going to try it on my muslin today too. I was putting off patching a piece that I cut too short.
8/2/09 8:32 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Karla..what a GREAT idea! ...I've used it in the sewing room for other things, but would have NEVER thought of this...brilliant!
8/2/09 8:44 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great tip! My kids are always using up my scotch tape so this will come in really handy in a pinch!
8/2/09 9:24 AM
Patti B said...
Don't you love it when our household supplies dare us to find new uses for them? Clever girl!
8/2/09 9:30 AM
beth5646 said...
I love it!!!
8/2/09 11:36 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I've also been using this for pattern adjustments. It's sooo much easier than using up all that tape. You are right about reinforcing it. I'm finding that it doesn't always stick permanently to the pattern paper.
8/2/09 12:07 PM
Pinkhouselady said...
Great idea! I love innovation
8/2/09 3:00 PM
Kathi R said...
Great idea -- I bought that stuff for sewing and found that it works in the kitchen too!
8/3/09 2:35 PM
glenj said...
great idea.Australia only got press and seal about a year ago,I bought a couple from the ONLY store that sold it (Coles)grocery shop.now it is gone again,so now I'm very careful with my use of it as I know I won't be able to get more.
8/5/09 8:47 AM
MaddyGranMa said...
I love this! Let's all look around for those things we already have that are crossover possibilities for sewing! Super!
8/8/09 10:20 AM
TerriW said...
Great idea!! Will try to remember.
8/18/09 7:56 PM
KathySews said...
just had another battle with my pattern, namely fba, and ran across this tip. most excellent! thanks
11/23/10 7:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.