SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > correct bobbin insertion

Viewed 5358 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/1/09 7:18 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
When students have problems with their sewing machines that won't form stitches, almost always, the problem is that they have not inserted their bobbin correctly. It must unwind in only one direction and if you have it going the wrong way you are almost guaranteed problems sewing after a few stitches, so make sure you are inserting it correctly by referring to your sewing manual. Then use a sharpy marker and place an arrow for the correct direction somewhere on your machine or put a note on your machine
if you would rather not write on it. Even seasoned stitchers do this!
It doesn't seem to matter how many times I tell a student this. I think I will make a huge sign reminding them because I'm tired of repeating myself...

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Thanks so much - what a good tip to write it on the machine!. I can't believe I never thought of that. i get sick of referring to my manual and sometimes don't bother, probably with exactly the results you're talking about!
8/16/09 9:54 PM
lyndle said...
what a good tip to write it on. I can't believe I never thought of that. i get sick of referring to my manual and sometimes don't bother, probably with exactly the results you're talking about!
8/16/09 9:53 PM
guillorypr said...
I feel silly. I never even thought of this...I thought it could only go in one way...
8/5/09 3:45 PM
glenj said...
drop in bobbins are easy,it has to look like the letter p with the thread on the left ,drop it in put it through the tension and go.I don't know if it's all drop ins,I've only had brother and janome.On the verticals I turn it so I can see the bobbin turn clockwise.
8/5/09 8:41 AM
glenj said...
drop in bobbins are easy,it has to look like the letter p with the thread on the left ,drop it in put it through the tension and go.I don't know if it's all drop ins,I've only had brother and janome.On the verticals I turn it so I can see the bobbin turn clockwise.
8/5/09 8:41 AM
Pinkhouselady said...
I have "notes" on my sewing machine and serger so I don't constantly dig out my manual. Took me forever to realize that I OWN the machine. It is OK to write on it. So now I can mark on it again with this great reminder. Thanks.
8/2/09 3:03 PM
Sewingmi said...
It always used to be a problem for me as well, until I got the Babylock which has the directions right on the machine next to the bobbin! I wish I would have thought of that when I had my old machine! Thank goodness the manufacturers keep making the machines easier to use!
8/2/09 10:16 AM
Oceanpeg said...
I usually hold my bobbin like the # 6 which seems to work all of the time. Something I learned over 50 years ago with the Singer top loading sewing machines.
8/2/09 3:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.