SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > How to feed the sewing need.

Viewed 5252 times
Posted by: anncie1
photo

 
 
About anncie1 star
Member since: 11/21/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/3/09 2:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
When you have some time (a good amount is at least 2.5 or 3 hours), cut and mark (ONLY) easy "needables". Needables being a pair of shorts, capri's or any easy whatever. Mark them and put them in a pile in your room or sewing area. Your pile should be 6 garments/items or less! (I have 6 ready to go.) Now, when you have some time to kill, sit and sew what is cut out and ready. You will actually be sewing with the "Icky part already behind you!" . Remember to cut and mark ONLY things that you crave. Make sure the pattern is easy or fast and use a GREAT fabric. Theses important elements will keep your "mojo" high and the pile will disappear. You will have so many new things to wear not to mention feeling great because of your accomplishments.

When I have to "kill a cut pile" I won't fabric or pattern shop until the pile is gone - thus eliminating a MAJOR distraction.

For those convoluted patterns, cut, mark and work on those all at once - it's the only way to get em done. (LOL!) Good luck!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
gogojassie said...
It's inspiring to read great advice on how to sew more garments. Thanks
11/20/11 1:33 PM
MaddyGranMa said...
I think that this is a great idea! I find that I spend gobs of time shopping for patterns ( my favorite ) when I have patterns that are lying unused by my sewing machine! Thanks!
8/8/09 10:15 AM
marycds said...
Let me add that it is good to cut out a bunch of stuff that will take the same thread, especially serger thread. Sometimes all the machine set up is another part that hinders me.
8/5/09 3:38 PM
Rebecca Szetela said...
This is a great idea! A nice way to organize your sewing needs. Thanks for your posting!
8/4/09 7:30 AM
Winifred said...
Good idea - sounds like there's hope for me at last !!
8/3/09 6:54 PM
NanJones said...
I totally agree, with one exception, cut some stuff that has to be done, but has no hurry about it. Just two or three weeks ago I cut 4 or 5 things out and was done with them before I knew what happened. And I did enjoy wearing my new things.
8/3/09 2:34 PM
mhk3boys said...
I will have to try this!
8/3/09 9:25 AM
petro said...
This does sound like a good idea!
8/3/09 5:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.