SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing a Lined Pocket Flap

Viewed 5425 times
Posted by: Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Y starstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 270 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/9/09 12:43 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Web site/URL: photo
A lined pocket flap is less bulky and can be more precisely sewn and pressed than a pocket flap that is self-faced. I'm always interested in increasing the accuracy and precision of my sewing and this is a nice touch that helps me do that.

I have prepared a photo tutorial (accessible at the photo link above) to show how it's done. The tutorial covers accurate stitching, trimming, pressing and topstitching. There are detailed captions under each photo which will give you more information.

Ask questions in the comments section, if you have any.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
Your topstitching is excellent. How do you mangage to get so close to the edge without having uneven, crooked stitching?
8/9/09 1:43 PM
KempCorr said...
Excellent tutorial.
8/9/09 8:30 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
Thank you so much for this. It is excellent.
8/9/09 10:11 PM
Charrlie said...
Thank you great review
8/10/09 0:15 AM
Fran G said...
A great addition to my group of tutorials. Your precision is enviable! Thanks for this informative, time intensive project! Next time you are jacket making, please prepare an in depth tutorial on how to achieve beautiful collar points..mine are still hit or miss! In your spare time, of course!! Thanks again.
8/10/09 7:28 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
Beautifully done. Thanks for sharing this tutorial on sewing a lined pocket flap.
8/10/09 7:42 AM
Karine said...
You do beautiful work - thanks for the tutorial!
8/10/09 8:00 AM
calminatrix said...
that ws awesome! thanks SO much for your time and effort! What a beautiful job! and i love your featherweight!
8/10/09 8:01 AM
becca a said...
This is a fabulous tutorial. You are so clear in your explanations and your pictures are great! Thank you.
8/10/09 9:59 AM
HeyJane said...
I love this type of pocket. Now I'll remember how to do it more neatly. Superb tutorial !
8/10/09 10:09 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks! Very nice explanation and photos.
8/10/09 1:26 PM
Brine said...
Thanks, Kay! That is a really great tutorial!
8/10/09 3:34 PM
Annie- oh said...
I echo all this well-deserved praise and thanks, also Fran G.'s wish for one on collar points, please!
8/10/09 4:39 PM
anncie1 said...
this is awesome! I will definately use it!
8/11/09 10:24 PM
jilly cooper said...
I agree with all the comments, great tutorial and very informative. Those stitches are perfect.
8/12/09 2:51 AM
katie lynne said...
Thank you Kay!!!!
8/12/09 8:16 PM
ryansmumAria said...
wow - perfection!
8/13/09 0:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
very nice tutorial
8/23/09 7:50 PM
Tez said...
Fantastic. Thank you for this tutorial!
8/26/09 7:48 AM
Patti B said...
Wonderful tutorial! I love your attention to detail and precision sewing. I have a jacket coming up that I'll try this on. Thanks so much. Oh -- and add me to the collar point beggars list!
8/28/09 9:46 AM
taters said...
Precise clear pictures - Thank You!
1/26/10 10:57 PM
Christas said...
Thank you so much for this tutorial. There are several garments (of mine) I can think of that would have looked better sewn if I had looked at this tutorial first.
2/7/10 6:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.