SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Wicking knits

Viewed 5188 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/03 11:26 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This tip was included in an email from Fabricline.com Since I had often...okay, occasionally...wondered whether there was a right side/wrong side to these fabrics, I was glad to learn the answer before I made something that had to be worn inside out:

Confused by wicking knits?? Sprinkle water on both sides of the fabric and the side that absorbs the water fastest is the WRONG side.





<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Great tip thanks.
7/6/03 9:56 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !! i dont know how many times i made something with the wrong side... lol... Thanks
7/7/03 4:19 PM
AnneM said...
Now that's a pretty practical approach, isn't it!
5/4/05 4:18 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Well, that proves it. The PD I ordered from Wazoodle doesn't just look like swimsuit fabric, it IS swimsuit fabric!
5/5/05 7:56 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Now gang, all I did was repeat information I saw somewhere. I make no personal guarantees that this works. In fact, I tried it on some alleged wicking lycra, and either I am visually challenged, or the stuff I got is an equal-opportunity "wicker". It's going to take better corrective lenses and an upgraded stopwatch for me to decide which side is the right one.
5/5/05 12:11 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Karla, it did work for me on the Power Dry I bought from MaryBeth's coop. Beads of water just sit on the top of the stuff I bought from Wazoodle.
5/5/05 12:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.