SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Wicking knits

Viewed 5280 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/03 11:26 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This tip was included in an email from Fabricline.com Since I had often...okay, occasionally...wondered whether there was a right side/wrong side to these fabrics, I was glad to learn the answer before I made something that had to be worn inside out:

Confused by wicking knits?? Sprinkle water on both sides of the fabric and the side that absorbs the water fastest is the WRONG side.





<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Karla, it did work for me on the Power Dry I bought from MaryBeth's coop. Beads of water just sit on the top of the stuff I bought from Wazoodle.
5/5/05 12:40 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Now gang, all I did was repeat information I saw somewhere. I make no personal guarantees that this works. In fact, I tried it on some alleged wicking lycra, and either I am visually challenged, or the stuff I got is an equal-opportunity "wicker". It's going to take better corrective lenses and an upgraded stopwatch for me to decide which side is the right one.
5/5/05 12:11 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Well, that proves it. The PD I ordered from Wazoodle doesn't just look like swimsuit fabric, it IS swimsuit fabric!
5/5/05 7:56 AM
AnneM said...
Now that's a pretty practical approach, isn't it!
5/4/05 4:18 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !! i dont know how many times i made something with the wrong side... lol... Thanks
7/7/03 4:19 PM
els said...
Great tip thanks.
7/6/03 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

More Info
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.