SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Glad Press'N Seal

Viewed 5563 times
Posted by: deesews
photo

 
 
About deesews star
CA USA
Member since: 9/24/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/18/09 1:10 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
To clone a favorite top, you don't need to pin it to a piece of paper. Glad Press'N Seal sticks to fabric, so it can be used to copy your favorite pants or shirt. Just stick it on, draw the seamlines, then remove. This has got to be the easiest way to clone a garment!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
i can't wait to try this THANKS
8/18/09 7:44 AM
mhk3boys said...
That is a great tip!
8/18/09 8:18 AM
nancymm said...
I've tried it, and it works like a dream..add a second layer if it feels too skimpy.
8/18/09 11:56 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Thank you!!!
8/18/09 11:22 PM
jr said...
Wow! Great idea! THANKS! JR
8/19/09 0:19 AM
deesews said...
Nancymm, thanks for mentioning using two layers. Really helpful idea!
8/19/09 1:14 AM
ClareinStitches said...
This sounds brilliant. Wish we could get Glad in the UK!
8/19/09 4:50 AM
grey ann said...
Brilliant!
8/19/09 8:08 AM
MammaJamma said...
You are a genius! I can't wait to try this. You may have changed my life forever!
8/19/09 9:18 AM
catsmeow said...
Also, this makes a great topper stabilizer for machine embroidery. Use it on high pile fabrics like towels, or sometimes fleece.
8/19/09 1:46 PM
HeyJane said...
Oh, I just copied a jacket and couldn't get the sleeve cap for the life of me. This will work to go around sleeves. Super idea.
8/19/09 6:09 PM
Sandy S said...
Great tip! Which I knew about it last week! Oh well, I know now for the next project.
8/22/09 11:16 PM
anncie1 said...
ooooh!!
8/29/09 4:22 PM
CelticaDea said...
wow! cool idea :)
9/14/09 9:42 PM
deesews said...
Since it can be difficult to copy the seams through the Glad, try running your fingernail down them. They are often easy to feel, like a little valley. Your nail pressure will leave an indentation in the Glad that you can then draw over with a sharpie.
9/15/09 10:16 AM
sewingwithmysisters said...
I copy RTW often, in order to have the style, but modify the fit. I think I have tried every method, but had not heard of this until today! Genius! Thanks SO much.
3/6/11 8:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.