SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > too busy to sew?

Viewed 5255 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/20/09 8:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I am a typical working mom (I actually have great hours 6-1) and I am too busy to spend any personal time sewing although I teach sewing all day long. I have found that I can slowly make something wonderful 15 MINUTES AT A TIME!
I sometimes don't have that much time to spare but any tiny amount helps and is great therapy.

We can all squeeze in a few wonderful minutes of sewing and I have found that it is even more enjoyable when making something complex since I am breaking it down into manageable parts. I am so thrilled to be sewing at all so I don't mind putting in that dreaded zipper since that's all I have time to do or I can break it down into two sessions.

I tend to think in sections instead of being overwhelmed by a big projects. I am almost finished making a rather complicated, time consuming bag with lots of pockets/zippers/piping. It was a joy to put together because I broke it down into manageable parts...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
carolrv said...
Even if you have very little time, it is satisfying to do something that STAYS DONE!
6/18/10 7:19 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
QUOTE: I am so thrilled to be sewing at all so I don't mind putting in that dreaded zipper since that's all I have time to do or I can break it down into two sessions.END OF QUOTE ---I could not agree with you more.
5/27/10 12:44 PM
MissFit said...
This is a wonderful idea, I can not wait for the day that I get my sewing room. Until then I am nomadic in my sewing and constantly have to set up and break down :( Can't wait to be able to try it.
8/22/09 2:15 PM
quathy said...
ditto! i have Nancy Zieman's book 10-20-30 Minutes to Sew, which is the same philosophy, and breaks down all the steps in an easily consumable way. Just yesterday, I sewed one seam on a blouse and pressed... tonight I'll insert sleeves... and I'm expecting to finish the blouse this weekend!
8/21/09 5:05 PM
j222b said...
Yes, my DD does yard work for 15 minutes a day and says it's amazing what she can accomplish, too.
8/21/09 11:52 AM
catsmeow said...
This is also a good tip for doing some household task (cleaning out closet, garage, etc.) by setting a timer for "X" amount of time. When the timer goes off, walk away until the next day. It is amazing how much can be done in just a few minutes each day.
8/21/09 11:39 AM
Dianne Sebastopol CA said...
I too have learned, at last, that what I call micro-moves gets me sewing (doing anything I love but have a hard time sitting down to do), and nourishes me daily , plus the deep satisfaction of a finished product. Thank you for reminding me - I always need reminders!
8/21/09 7:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.