SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > too busy to sew?

Viewed 5238 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/20/09 8:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I am a typical working mom (I actually have great hours 6-1) and I am too busy to spend any personal time sewing although I teach sewing all day long. I have found that I can slowly make something wonderful 15 MINUTES AT A TIME!
I sometimes don't have that much time to spare but any tiny amount helps and is great therapy.

We can all squeeze in a few wonderful minutes of sewing and I have found that it is even more enjoyable when making something complex since I am breaking it down into manageable parts. I am so thrilled to be sewing at all so I don't mind putting in that dreaded zipper since that's all I have time to do or I can break it down into two sessions.

I tend to think in sections instead of being overwhelmed by a big projects. I am almost finished making a rather complicated, time consuming bag with lots of pockets/zippers/piping. It was a joy to put together because I broke it down into manageable parts...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
carolrv said...
Even if you have very little time, it is satisfying to do something that STAYS DONE!
6/18/10 7:19 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
QUOTE: I am so thrilled to be sewing at all so I don't mind putting in that dreaded zipper since that's all I have time to do or I can break it down into two sessions.END OF QUOTE ---I could not agree with you more.
5/27/10 12:44 PM
MissFit said...
This is a wonderful idea, I can not wait for the day that I get my sewing room. Until then I am nomadic in my sewing and constantly have to set up and break down :( Can't wait to be able to try it.
8/22/09 2:15 PM
quathy said...
ditto! i have Nancy Zieman's book 10-20-30 Minutes to Sew, which is the same philosophy, and breaks down all the steps in an easily consumable way. Just yesterday, I sewed one seam on a blouse and pressed... tonight I'll insert sleeves... and I'm expecting to finish the blouse this weekend!
8/21/09 5:05 PM
j222b said...
Yes, my DD does yard work for 15 minutes a day and says it's amazing what she can accomplish, too.
8/21/09 11:52 AM
catsmeow said...
This is also a good tip for doing some household task (cleaning out closet, garage, etc.) by setting a timer for "X" amount of time. When the timer goes off, walk away until the next day. It is amazing how much can be done in just a few minutes each day.
8/21/09 11:39 AM
Dianne Sebastopol CA said...
I too have learned, at last, that what I call micro-moves gets me sewing (doing anything I love but have a hard time sitting down to do), and nourishes me daily , plus the deep satisfaction of a finished product. Thank you for reminding me - I always need reminders!
8/21/09 7:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.