SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing lessons dvds/Videos

Viewed 5498 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/09 9:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Although I went to design school, I learned most of what I know through reading over 100 sewing/fashion books and watching sewing shows- tons of them, over the last 30 years.

I recently bought Threads fitting series and Insider sewing secrets and couldn't believe how much I learned. It was money well spent. I plan on buying all of Kenneth King's as well just after I rob my local bank...

Anyhow, I would highly recommend watching sewing show or subscribing to Sandra Betzina's webshows (although a little pricey). I believe you can even rent dvds on sewing (maybe someone will let us know where).

You will learn so much through this venue and it's almost as good as attending a class.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SeamsYouSew said...
Agree that DVD/Video is a great way to go. As far as renting goes, try SMARTFLIX.COM for videos that teach you how to do things--look under the heading "ARTS & CRAFTS" for the sewing videos. They buy more DVD/Video based on request & rental patterns--if we rent more sewing, they will add more, but they already have quite a few.

I miss when Nancy's Notions used to have a video library--that was a great resource.
9/14/09 2:18 PM

marycds said...
Netflix has a few. I know there is one on Couture Sewing by Roberta Carr. Our local ASG used to maintain a library for lending but sadly not anymore. I can find a few at the library too.
8/31/09 4:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
We use Blockbuster on line so I checked there. Out of 3 pages of not available, they only had 2 related to sewing - and 1 for knitting. I've not checked our local library yet (we just moved), but our previous one had nothing at all. Sad. It would be a way to check some out to see if you want to purchase them.
8/30/09 5:20 PM
HatBuddy said...
Sometimes your local library will buy individual DVD/CD's or a whole series on sewing. Mine buys a few so that helps me.
8/27/09 10:55 AM
Barbara said...
I agree with this idea. I have found that I can play it over anover where I need the most help. Sometomes there will be some small tip that just changes everthing for the better. I'm hooked on teaching dvd's. All from the comfort of my home.
8/25/09 8:20 AM
Barbara said...
I agree with this idea. I have found that I can play it over anover where I need the most help. Sometomes there will be some small tip that just changes everthing for the better. I'm hooked on teaching dvd's. All from the comfort of my home.
8/25/09 8:20 AM
Merry G said...
great idea & thanks to the person who told us where to rent them...anyone use them before?
8/24/09 7:31 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Wow, I can't imagine why someone would not be thrilled about the fitting dvds by Threads. They are brilliant and so very well done. Certainly, I would have loved alot more info but I got more than my money's worth.
8/24/09 4:20 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I feel the same about everything you wrote. Some didn't care for the Threads set but I enjoyed them and the Insider Secrets and will rewatch as I find time. I recently discovered the Peggy Sagers and Cynthia Guffey series of fitting tapes. I didn't know until I started watching these things how little I knew about some fit issues. In some ways I find books and dvds better for me than taking a class as I am forgetful and can revisit information I am interested in. I have some Betzina books I picked up recently - I used to watch her sometimes on television. I wish I had taped her shows.
8/24/09 3:25 PM
Kath in ON said...
I've also had luck renting some sewing videos from my local library...
8/24/09 9:35 AM
sewme47 said...
Sewing DVD's can be rented at smartflix.com.
8/23/09 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.