SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sewing lessons dvds/Videos

Viewed 5427 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/09 9:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Although I went to design school, I learned most of what I know through reading over 100 sewing/fashion books and watching sewing shows- tons of them, over the last 30 years.

I recently bought Threads fitting series and Insider sewing secrets and couldn't believe how much I learned. It was money well spent. I plan on buying all of Kenneth King's as well just after I rob my local bank...

Anyhow, I would highly recommend watching sewing show or subscribing to Sandra Betzina's webshows (although a little pricey). I believe you can even rent dvds on sewing (maybe someone will let us know where).

You will learn so much through this venue and it's almost as good as attending a class.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewme47 said...
Sewing DVD's can be rented at smartflix.com.
8/23/09 10:44 PM
Kath in ON said...
I've also had luck renting some sewing videos from my local library...
8/24/09 9:35 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I feel the same about everything you wrote. Some didn't care for the Threads set but I enjoyed them and the Insider Secrets and will rewatch as I find time. I recently discovered the Peggy Sagers and Cynthia Guffey series of fitting tapes. I didn't know until I started watching these things how little I knew about some fit issues. In some ways I find books and dvds better for me than taking a class as I am forgetful and can revisit information I am interested in. I have some Betzina books I picked up recently - I used to watch her sometimes on television. I wish I had taped her shows.
8/24/09 3:25 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Wow, I can't imagine why someone would not be thrilled about the fitting dvds by Threads. They are brilliant and so very well done. Certainly, I would have loved alot more info but I got more than my money's worth.
8/24/09 4:20 PM
Merry G said...
great idea & thanks to the person who told us where to rent them...anyone use them before?
8/24/09 7:31 PM
Barbara said...
I agree with this idea. I have found that I can play it over anover where I need the most help. Sometomes there will be some small tip that just changes everthing for the better. I'm hooked on teaching dvd's. All from the comfort of my home.
8/25/09 8:20 AM
Barbara said...
I agree with this idea. I have found that I can play it over anover where I need the most help. Sometomes there will be some small tip that just changes everthing for the better. I'm hooked on teaching dvd's. All from the comfort of my home.
8/25/09 8:20 AM
HatBuddy said...
Sometimes your local library will buy individual DVD/CD's or a whole series on sewing. Mine buys a few so that helps me.
8/27/09 10:55 AM
Rhoda K said...
We use Blockbuster on line so I checked there. Out of 3 pages of not available, they only had 2 related to sewing - and 1 for knitting. I've not checked our local library yet (we just moved), but our previous one had nothing at all. Sad. It would be a way to check some out to see if you want to purchase them.
8/30/09 5:20 PM
marycds said...
Netflix has a few. I know there is one on Couture Sewing by Roberta Carr. Our local ASG used to maintain a library for lending but sadly not anymore. I can find a few at the library too.
8/31/09 4:22 PM
SeamsYouSew said...
Agree that DVD/Video is a great way to go. As far as renting goes, try SMARTFLIX.COM for videos that teach you how to do things--look under the heading "ARTS & CRAFTS" for the sewing videos. They buy more DVD/Video based on request & rental patterns--if we rent more sewing, they will add more, but they already have quite a few.

I miss when Nancy's Notions used to have a video library--that was a great resource.
9/14/09 2:18 PM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.