SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Elastic ruler marker

Viewed 5255 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/5/09 8:34 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Web site/URL: photo
See picture above

Whenever I need to use my ruler to make strips or to make pattern adjustments, I would use a piece of masking tape at the line I was measuring to - this is how it is done in design rooms when I worked in the garment industry. It's very practical so you don't have to keep looking for whatever number your working with.

Rare "Light bulb moment" ...

I made an "ruler marker" by sewing a piece of elastic together (tight fit) and sliding it onto many of my rulers. I keep a few without it because it can get in the way of certain uses (rotary blading).


It's one of those little things that makes pattern altering run just a bit smoother.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
koo104 said...
A simple brilliant idea. I can remember reading the ruler backwards and cutting cuffs to short at the eleventh hour.
9/5/09 2:33 PM
JeanK said...
Good tip - I will definitely incorporate this one into my sewing. Thanks.
9/5/09 3:44 PM
petro said...
Also, when using a flexible curve to measure round armscye and top sleeve, an elastic band slipped over saves time.
9/6/09 5:29 AM
Elemar said...
I love this tip! Very useful and actually a real timesaver. Thanks.
9/6/09 9:22 AM
Merry G said...
awesome idea!
9/6/09 10:56 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
I love your tips. I've been sewing 100+ yrs (not really) but nover thought of this great tip. Thanks you, Ryansmum
9/6/09 7:50 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
I've been sewing 100+ yrs (not really) and never thought of this great tip. Thank you, Ryansmum!!! I'll certainly will be using your trip. PS I love all your tips.
9/6/09 7:52 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
I've been sewing 100+ yrs (not really) and never thought of this great tip. Thank you, Ryansmum!!! I'll certainly will be using your trip. PS I love all your tips.
9/6/09 7:52 PM
homejewel said...
At 6'3"+ you better believe I have to alter patterns and this is such a wonderful idea. Another idea is to have a notepad and pen as I sit here and read through all of your wonderful tips - LOL. Thank you!
9/8/09 2:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.