SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Elastic ruler marker

Viewed 5273 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/5/09 8:34 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Web site/URL: photo
See picture above

Whenever I need to use my ruler to make strips or to make pattern adjustments, I would use a piece of masking tape at the line I was measuring to - this is how it is done in design rooms when I worked in the garment industry. It's very practical so you don't have to keep looking for whatever number your working with.

Rare "Light bulb moment" ...

I made an "ruler marker" by sewing a piece of elastic together (tight fit) and sliding it onto many of my rulers. I keep a few without it because it can get in the way of certain uses (rotary blading).


It's one of those little things that makes pattern altering run just a bit smoother.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
koo104 said...
A simple brilliant idea. I can remember reading the ruler backwards and cutting cuffs to short at the eleventh hour.
9/5/09 2:33 PM
JeanK said...
Good tip - I will definitely incorporate this one into my sewing. Thanks.
9/5/09 3:44 PM
petro said...
Also, when using a flexible curve to measure round armscye and top sleeve, an elastic band slipped over saves time.
9/6/09 5:29 AM
Elemar said...
I love this tip! Very useful and actually a real timesaver. Thanks.
9/6/09 9:22 AM
Merry G said...
awesome idea!
9/6/09 10:56 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
I love your tips. I've been sewing 100+ yrs (not really) but nover thought of this great tip. Thanks you, Ryansmum
9/6/09 7:50 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
I've been sewing 100+ yrs (not really) and never thought of this great tip. Thank you, Ryansmum!!! I'll certainly will be using your trip. PS I love all your tips.
9/6/09 7:52 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
I've been sewing 100+ yrs (not really) and never thought of this great tip. Thank you, Ryansmum!!! I'll certainly will be using your trip. PS I love all your tips.
9/6/09 7:52 PM
homejewel said...
At 6'3"+ you better believe I have to alter patterns and this is such a wonderful idea. Another idea is to have a notepad and pen as I sit here and read through all of your wonderful tips - LOL. Thank you!
9/8/09 2:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.