SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > ruler trick

Viewed 5196 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/11/09 0:48 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Web site/URL: photo
( click on picture above)

It NEVER fails. I always start off with the wrong end of the ruler. How can that happen almost every single time defies logic.

Finally, I got fed up with the odds being against me so I took out a marker and colored in a line (1/8Th) at the begining of the number line. The colored side is always on the left hand side and I don't have to fuss.

I did it to all 15 rulers...

Any way I can make things less frustrating means more sewing gets done and fewer things get thrown across the room.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Bunsnpigs said...
I love your tips. I REALLY liked that elastic one on the ruler and should comment. Anyway, keep them coming, and thank you!
9/11/09 8:31 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
I thought I was the only one! Thanks.
9/11/09 2:43 PM
quathy said...
I'm having another one of my "Doh! Why didn't I think of that?!" moments. Thanks for sharing! I'm loving all of your helpful hints!
9/11/09 7:15 PM
EleanorSews said...
It never fails and it seems to be an almost universal situation! Thanks for the idea.
9/11/09 9:51 PM
sewsally said...
Tape measures too -- thanks for the tip.
9/12/09 0:37 AM
Elle D said...
It is a strange and baffling law of rulers. Thanks for the tip. Now, how do you store those 18 rulers?
9/13/09 8:43 PM
Elle D said...
It is a strange and baffling law of rulers. Thanks for the tip. Now, how do you store those 18 rulers?
9/13/09 8:43 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Elle, I have half my rulers at work and half at home. I bought one of those wooden ruler holders at Joann's in the quilting sections. I should take a pic of it and post it. It's brilliant. I actually need more of them but they are a bit pricey and I really need four . The have little slits in them. I'll post it tomorrow instead of explaining poorly...
9/15/09 4:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.