SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Sharpening Your Rotary Cutter

Viewed 7606 times
Posted by: Restart06
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Restart06 star
Member since: 10/29/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/11/09 10:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
I have been very frustrated with attempting to sharpen rotary cutter blades with the expensive OTC notions to sharpen the blades. These have but used to no avail, except to lighten my pocketbook and tire my arm (previous review). There was a great tip in the current Oklahoma ASG newsletter on how to sharpen your rotary cutter blades the easy way with very minimal expense and effort!!

To sharpen your rotary cutters, fold up a piece of aluminum
foil so that you have several layers and then just cut through
it several times and your cutter will be sharpened.

Well I am so excited as this works!!!!!! I can't tell you that this technique removes the nicks, which tends to happen on occasion. Also I don't know how long the blade stays sharpened, but this will allow me to extend the life of the blade. This is very green, reduces landfill waste, and much better on the environment, not to mention the pocketbook. Hopefully this will help all of you out there. Happy cutting!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewnow said...
And to think I just received my sharpener in the mail yesterday.
9/11/09 11:01 AM
j222b said...
Aluminum will work on scissors as well, I just found out about this, too.
9/11/09 11:32 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thanks for the great tip.
9/11/09 2:41 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thanks for the great tip.
9/11/09 2:42 PM
mssewcrazy said...
This tip is new to me and will come in handy. Thanks so much for passing it along.
9/11/09 5:42 PM
Maripat said...
But what about us folks who get the willies when scraping aluminum foil? I guess DH will have to help with this one...
9/12/09 6:15 AM
Renee' S said...
I bought a rotary blade sharpener, it was supposed to be the newest, greatest thing. I tried it twice and I couldn't tell any difference in the blade, I pitched it. Thanks for this great money saving tip.
9/12/09 10:00 AM
Renee' S said...
oops double post
9/12/09 10:00 AM
Patti B said...
Hmmm, I've often sharpened scissors this way -- wonder why I never tried it on the rotary cutter! Thanks so much for posting it!
9/12/09 11:10 AM
gaginny said...
great tip......thanks a lot
9/12/09 3:47 PM
Boo97 said...
Thank you!
9/12/09 11:01 PM
Elle D said...
I've never heard of this, thank you. Now maybe I won't have to replace a rotary blade every time I cut out RPL fabric.
9/13/09 8:45 PM
Peggym said...
Thanks for that tip. I am about to try it
9/14/09 10:31 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Neat! And I bet it as a bonus it even works for pinking and decorative-edge blades, too...
9/14/09 11:58 AM
fryman said...
excellent tip!
9/16/09 10:30 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I was just getting ready to do some rotary cutting....a timely and great tip!!
10/5/09 3:34 PM
Restart06 said...
I am glad that I read the tip and passed it on. Years ago my mom used to do this, but I had forgotten since it was so long ago and I only in the last few years started back sewing.
10/6/09 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.