SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Runaway foot pedal

Viewed 5333 times
Posted by: SewRaeMe
photo

 
 
About SewRaeMe
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/17/09 9:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I recently read in an issue of Threads magazine (I believe that is where I saw it) about stopping your sewing machine pedal from running away.

I have a carpeted sewing area and still my pedal would run to the wall. I attached some of the "hook" side of velcro to the bottom. This holds it in place and prevents it from slipping while not "glueing it" to the carpet.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
skysthelimit said...
I use old mousepads, works like a charm!
5/4/10 9:50 PM
snapdragonfly said...
Thanks, I have also tried the grippy non slippy stuff for my machine AND my footpedal but it has not worked for me so I will try the velcro hook idea and let you know.
9/18/09 8:49 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Double-sided tape keeps pedals stuck to hardware floors as well. If you just put a little strip, it's still easy to pull it off and move the pedal around if necessary.
9/18/09 4:18 AM
calminatrix said...
i sure hope this works! i struggle with this all day, every day! looking down, looking up, looking down, looking up...
9/18/09 3:40 AM
monijo said...
I've tried the mesh, but it didn't work for me. However, I will try using the loop side of Velcro. I hope that I get better results. Thanks.
9/17/09 6:11 PM
Darlene2001 said...
Really great idea, thanks.
9/17/09 1:09 PM
quathy said...
My dealer also recommends using that grippy mesh that you put under carpets to keep them from slipping on hardwood floors. Sorry I don't know what that stuff is called... but it works marvelously for foot pedals, and also for runaway sergers!
9/17/09 10:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.