SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > cheap free arm insert

Viewed 5422 times
Posted by: janlorraine
photo

 
 
About janlorraine
GA USA
Member since: 10/6/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/25/09 11:47 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
I made an insert for my free arm sewing machine out of balsa wood. This is available at art supply and craft stores. It is easy to cut an opening for the base of the machine though it is important to make a template first. I made one for $10.00

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Bunsnpigs said...
Cool. Can you post a picture?
9/25/09 2:45 PM
Teeavilnor said...
any photos?
9/25/09 3:41 PM
janlorraine said...
Sorry, I do not have a camera. But the insert looks exactly like the acrylic type except it is wood. I did go over the surface of the balsa wood with a coat of polyurethane.
9/25/09 4:43 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Cool idea. I've seen people make these out of cardboard, but the balsa would be nicer looking!
9/25/09 4:54 PM
j222b said...
Clever. Here is a link to an acrylic one if other sewists have trouble picturing: http://www.allbrands.com/products/abp03040.html
9/25/09 8:49 PM
j222b said...
Duplicate post.
9/25/09 8:49 PM
deesews said...
Does this mean that you made a larger table to increase the size of your free arm to be like a sewing table extension? Could you please post a photo? Thank you.
9/26/09 11:59 AM
janlorraine said...
deesews: no, this is not like the extension tables that come with the newer quilting machines these days. It is a homemade insert that fills in the cutout of a cabinet to make the upper surface of the machine level with the surface of the cabinet. To access the free arm, the balsa wood insert is removable just like the acrylic inserts sold with different models of sewing machines. I hope this helps.
9/26/09 12:30 PM
nancy2001 said...
What did you use for legs?
9/26/09 1:20 PM
janlorraine said...
nancy2001: The insert does not need legs; it fits in the cabinet cut out just like the acrylic inserts that are sold with free arm machines. It is virtually the same, except it is wood. I also like that it is not reflective like the acrylic ones.
9/26/09 8:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.