Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No-sew Shoulder Pads (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5783 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Posted by: nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR
About nancy2001 starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 130 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/26/09 5:36 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Edited on 10/15/09 to add: Here is a link to Briansew's blog which contains a video of me demonstrating how to make shoulder pads. Also included are PDFs of the written instructions and the materials list.

http://sites.briansews.com/

Original review:
Good shoulder pads for tailoring are increasingly hard to find, and they can be pricey. But if you have a favorite multi-layer shoulder pad, you can clone the pattern quickly and easily. Then you can construct your own no-sew shoulder pads in less than half an hour and with considerable savings.

To clone your pattern, trace each layer of the shoulder pad onto a clear plastic template sheet as shown in the photo above.

Note that I have marked each piece with a number corresponding to that part's layer on the pad. Also note that clear template sheets are available in the quilting section of Hancock's and Joann.

Then cut each layer of the pad from your choice of material. I used fusible fleece, which is slightly firmer than quilting fleece, but I did not fuse the fabric. You can construct the top layer with a sheet of synthetic felt. I used black felt.

To assemble your shoulder pad, simply glue the pieces together in the proper numerical order using a permanent spray glue such as Sullivan's Quick Stick.

A finished shoulder pad is shown below. Note that the shoulder pad I made also includes an optional chest shield made of punch batting. This shield has been machine stitched to the outer edge of the pad.

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj46/nancynancy2001/P9181585.jpg
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
monijo said...
It's nice to know about the clear template sheets and about the permanent spray glue. These will go on my sewing list for my next trip home to the U.S. I have a Vogue pattern for shoulder pads that I have been using forever. All possible types of pads are included in it. I would like to make a more permanent copy than the present tracing paper copies I've made. It is truly a wonderful pattern. What I have found useful is marking the front and back along with the shoulder line. This makes it easier to assemble the pieces. Especially those little itty bitty ones. Thank you for the information.
9/26/09 7:12 PM
ryansmumAria said...
what a great idea. It's on my list of things to do one day but you have motivated me to do it much sooner. I did not know about the spray! Need to have it now that I do Thanks Nancy.
9/26/09 8:42 PM
deesews said...
Nancy, thank you for sharing this tip. You mention a couple of things that are new to me. What is a chest shield? What is punch batting? It seems that you do not cover your shoulder pads with slippery fabric or fabric that matches the garment. Is this true? Thank you so much, Dee
9/27/09 0:53 AM
petro said...
Thanks for the glue tip Nancy.
9/27/09 2:32 AM
nancy2001 said...
I'm glad you found this tip helpful. Deesews, these instructions are for creating the type of uncovered shoulder pad that's sewn inside lined, tailored jackets. Chest shields are used to fill in the hollow area above the bust that many women have. Punch batting is a compressed cotton batting that's available in the quilting section of Hancock's or Joann.
9/27/09 6:53 AM
moushka said...
Very clever, Nancy. You're right, good shoulder pads are hard to find. You could even use the front/back jacket pieces to customize the pad shape to your own particular pattern. Great tip.
9/27/09 12:42 PM
loti said...
What a great idea, thank you for sharing Nancy.
1/22/10 9:40 AM
nancy2001 said...
This is the link to the shoulder pad video and the pdf for the instructions -- http://www.youtube.com/user/BRemlinger#p/u/21/PfQYq3UyHrA
4/14/10 12:37 PM
mariejessie said...
Did you use synthetic or wool felt for the top layer? Just as an FYI, several years ago I picked up a shoulder pad pattern by one of the big name pattern companies (vogue or butterick?).
11/19/11 2:51 PM
fastcat said...
Could you use the same process with batting as inner layers? Or will it break down or be lumpy?
2/6/13 3:30 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us