SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > shoulder tip to shoulder tip measurement - kinda

Viewed 6935 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/27/09 10:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
Web site/URL: photo
see pic above~

This is probably one of the most important measurements one should take when making a shirt/top/dress but I have rarely seen it mentioned.

This will make fitting the shoulders so much easier as the shoulders are extremely important to fit and one of the areas that gives most people problems.

It's so easy to meaure yourself there so you don't need help from anyone. This measurement is not exactly at the shoulder tip, I would say it's about 1 inch towards the back.

Once you have the meaurement compare it to your pattern but since your pattern is probably only a half pattern, divide the meaurement in half (first add for ease and seam allowance).

To figure out how much ease you need find a shirt/top that fits you well and is similar in shape and fabric then measure the same area and see how much bigger it is than your measurement - that is your ease. Use that number to add.

This alone will help you tremendously in getting a great fit in the shoulder area.

Remember to always use your well fitting clothing in your closet as your guide to pattern alterations.

This will help guide you to a great fit...more to come on fitting.

~Aria

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
I love this tip!
9/27/09 11:49 AM
petro said...
That's a good idea. Its similar to the 'across back' measurement used in pattern drafting, ( about four inches down from the neck), but definitely easier to take on oneself.
9/27/09 1:32 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great tip.
9/27/09 3:02 PM
tod said...
I love that tip. Like you said, that measurement is rarely mentioned and I don't know why.
9/28/09 0:40 AM
Michele19 said...
Thank you for the tip. Could please you explain how you make this measurement on yourself?
9/28/09 5:18 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Michele, With my left hand on my left side, I simply hold the tape by pushing down the edge with my finger. I place it on the crest of shoulder going back about 1 inch from the actual shoulder line . You can't really get the shoulder tip exactly because then the tape is too high at the center back. I suppose the horizontal line is from the highest point of my center back at the "necklace" line and I continue to go straight across and hit what would be my armseye. Then with my right hand I hold the right side and keep my finger on that measurement. It's much easier than it sounds. Just give it a try and I think you will figure it out easily. Then you need to find the corresponding area on your garment that you will use to find your amount of ease. This might not be a 100 percent accurate but you are much closer to getting the right fit than any other technique that I have tried. good luck
9/28/09 5:57 AM
lnwmelon said...
Very helpful. Thanks for sharing.
10/1/09 10:24 AM
mary in FL said...
This measurement is used as a basis for Stretch & Sew patterns, which is why I like them so much.
3/26/10 6:47 PM
RissaLyn said...
You are so correct, most patterns don't mention this. I recently made a dress in my appropriate size not even realizing I should have checked the shoulder measurement. The dress was very big on me as I have very small shoulders in comparison to my other measurements. I made a second dress and it fits much better. I will be utilizing this info from now on. Great tip!
8/5/12 8:20 PM
Christy Woodbridge said...
This was recommended bu Sunni--Craftsy instructor as a very important "pattern fit" way to measure upper bust area.
10/18/13 11:47 AM
Gritty.cat1 said...
Great tip for my narrow shoulders
1/30/14 3:15 PM
Gritty.cat1 said...
Great tip for my narrow shoulders
1/30/14 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.