SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Attaching a neck band with a double needle

Viewed 5633 times
Posted by: Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbird starstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/13/09 2:06 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is a technique I find helpful when I'm attaching a neck band in a knit that has to stretch as it goes over your head or wrist. I don't know if this has been published anywhere, but I decided to try it one day and really liked the result.

The typical instruction is to sew the neck band to the garment using a zigzag or even a straight stitch, but both of these will rip in a high neckline, such as this one in my recent review.

I've tried several other solutions, such as attaching the neck band with my machine's stretch stitch or with my serger, but they tend to leave a lot of thread in the seam and are also harder to control. One day it hit me that the double needle that we all use to topstitch our knit garments so that they will still stretch could also be used to attach the neck band.

Just set up your double needle when you're ready to attach the band, position the left needle where you would otherwise have placed your single needle and stitch, stretching your band to fit the neckline as you go. Then fold it over to the inside as you normally would and topstitch again with the double needle on the right side of the neck band to complete your neckline.

I hope the series of photos I've included is helpful.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
Good idea. I liked the photos, too. What size double needle (width between the needles) do you usually use for this neckline?
10/13/09 2:44 PM
Catbird said...
j222b, thank you for reminding me -- I meant to include that! I usually use the Schmetz stretch-twin 2.5/75, but other sizes would work. It all depends on how wide you want your finished band to be. I'm glad the photos were helpful.
10/13/09 2:49 PM
julie w said...
What a good tip! Thank you for taking the time to post this together with the photos.
10/13/09 5:46 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Your photos really made this tip easy to understand. Thank you.
10/13/09 7:09 PM
room2ndfloor said...
Very often, the pattern piece for the neckband is not large enough to stretch comfortably over the head. I addressed making a repair to a sweater neckband in this tips column, on September 4.
10/13/09 7:13 PM
j222b said...
Catbird: Thanks for the reply!
10/13/09 10:51 PM
Braemar said...
Good Tip! Thanks.
10/14/09 5:29 AM
LynnG said...
This is a very helpful tip. I never thought of attaching the neckband in a single layer. I like the idea of minimizing the bulk.
10/14/09 9:27 AM
KathyOH said...
This sounds very interesting, I am going to try it the next time I make a knit top with this type of neckline.
10/14/09 10:53 AM
grey ann said...
Thank for the clear explanation and photos! Looks like RTW.
10/14/09 7:06 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Very helpful! I don't use my double needle nearly enough.
10/14/09 9:16 PM
KSC said...
Very well done! Your pictures and explanations are clear and easy to follow. Thank you.
10/14/09 11:13 PM
pottedpancake said...
Your sewing is downright inspirational. Your professional finishes and sense of style make me want to sit down to the sewing machine right now (but I have to go to work first). Beautiful. Please keep sharing. Thanks.
10/26/09 6:52 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the detailed photos- they are a great help. I've used a twin needle for finishing neckbands, but never thought of making the seam with it and often have to fiddle around trimming the seam to make it level. The two lines of stitiching should make that much easier!
10/29/09 7:13 AM
Alice said...
I must be obtuse, I don't get it! I got lost when you turned it to the back and used the dbl. needles there too. What am I missing...and I'm pretty experiened though you won't believe it from this comment. I'll read it a few more times, maybe it will click in. BTW, you sure a pretty lady. Alice
10/29/09 10:37 PM
Catbird said...
Thank you for all the kind comments, and I'm glad this has been helpful to people. I sent a message to Alice to try to clear things up, but if anyone else is unsure about the technique, just let me know. (BTW Alice, you're not obtuse! It's just much harder to describe sewing techniques than it is to demonstrate them!)
10/30/09 9:03 AM
Kayseri said...
What a great method, I'll have to try it.
11/21/09 2:50 PM
Angie Jones said...
Love the review and the photos! You're an inspiration!
1/9/10 6:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.