SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > salvaging frayed towels

Viewed 5959 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/22/09 12:25 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
The side edges of my terry cloth towels get frayed before the remainder of the towels wear out. Serging off the frayed edges with a matching 3 thread wide overcast stitch is an easy way to prolong their useful "life". The serging removes the stragglies and provides a neat and protective edge.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
owlie said...
Thanks Brine for providing a tip that means something isn't thrown away. I am heavy into mending and re-use these days, and it's more creative than not.
11/28/09 8:21 AM
costumecarol said...
I have done this to save on laundry. A big towel is cut into 6 or eight pieces with raw edges serged. One piece is big enough to dry me, an average sized human. With cheaper, thinner towels, one for my face and hair, one for the rest of me. At the end of the week, I was the equivelent of a couple towels instead of five or six.
10/26/09 8:56 AM
Warbler said...
I am fairly new to serging and this is an excellent project! Especially the binding!
10/25/09 11:10 PM
Sandra Mil said...
I have been doing this for years and recently started making binding out of coordinating fabric to make smaller cloths for washing dishes by hand.
10/24/09 10:37 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I do this to those turned into utility rags or donated to the animal shelter here that is always needing towels and cleaning rags. This tip is a good one.
10/23/09 8:50 AM
ChristineBR said...
Yes, and you can also cut them into facecloth size and then serge. As well, using bias binding along the sides makes them look very nice as well as repairs the frays.
10/23/09 7:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.