SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > buy a sample piece

Viewed 5214 times
Posted by: petro
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petro starstarstar
France
Member since: 6/24/07
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/2/09 6:28 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
This is as much a 'note to self' as a tip. I've just made up some pants from fabric which looked great on the bolt and felt like it would handle well, but which frayed badly, and didn't hold a crease as well as I'd expect, and somehow feels much harsher than it did in the shop. I'm thinking it would be a good idea to buy half a yard of a fabric whenever practical to test out how it behaves, before buying the piece needed for the project.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
K_sew said...

11/2/09 9:32 PM
K_sew said...
This is a great idea. You can wash & dry it (if washable), then rub it on the inside of your forearm to see it is is scratchy. It also helps in coordinating colors with the wardrobe at home.
11/2/09 9:32 PM
ryansmumAria said...
This is a great tip Petro. If the shop is not too far out of the way, I do this on occasion. Sometimes I buy several 1/8 pieces of fabric and "play" with them until I decide which I like best. I have so much fabric now that I only allow myself to purchase fabric I deeply love. I rarely buy much these days...
11/2/09 9:52 PM
lulubug said...
Good idea. I for one will take this advise since I am starting a Beginning Sewing Lab 101. Thanks
11/3/09 2:21 PM
MKBC said...
I agree, I also, just finish a skirt with fabric that looked and felt great. It frayed worse then any I have ever had and did not look or feel as I had hoped.
11/5/09 10:38 PM
Mary M. said...
For me, I think it would be good to buy an extra half yard of any fashion fabric I buy so I can do some test stitching, washing, ironing, or embellishment making before actually working on a project. Thanks for the tip, Petro. It got me thinking.
11/10/09 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.