SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > buy a sample piece

Viewed 5341 times
Posted by: petro
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petro starstarstar
France
Member since: 6/24/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/2/09 6:28 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
This is as much a 'note to self' as a tip. I've just made up some pants from fabric which looked great on the bolt and felt like it would handle well, but which frayed badly, and didn't hold a crease as well as I'd expect, and somehow feels much harsher than it did in the shop. I'm thinking it would be a good idea to buy half a yard of a fabric whenever practical to test out how it behaves, before buying the piece needed for the project.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary M. said...
For me, I think it would be good to buy an extra half yard of any fashion fabric I buy so I can do some test stitching, washing, ironing, or embellishment making before actually working on a project. Thanks for the tip, Petro. It got me thinking.
11/10/09 8:20 PM
MKBC said...
I agree, I also, just finish a skirt with fabric that looked and felt great. It frayed worse then any I have ever had and did not look or feel as I had hoped.
11/5/09 10:38 PM
lulubug said...
Good idea. I for one will take this advise since I am starting a Beginning Sewing Lab 101. Thanks
11/3/09 2:21 PM
ryansmumAria said...
This is a great tip Petro. If the shop is not too far out of the way, I do this on occasion. Sometimes I buy several 1/8 pieces of fabric and "play" with them until I decide which I like best. I have so much fabric now that I only allow myself to purchase fabric I deeply love. I rarely buy much these days...
11/2/09 9:52 PM
K_sew said...
This is a great idea. You can wash & dry it (if washable), then rub it on the inside of your forearm to see it is is scratchy. It also helps in coordinating colors with the wardrobe at home.
11/2/09 9:32 PM
K_sew said...

11/2/09 9:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.