SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Solving skipped stitches on rayon knits

Viewed 5921 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/1/09 1:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I sew with quite a few rayon jersey knits and while I simply love this fabric, sewing it on a sewing machine can be a challenge. I've tried changing the needles, the thread everything but I still get skipped stitches.



So, I try using my Serger and Coverstitch machine for sewing with rayon knits but what if you need to use the sewing machine?



I discovered this late one night while finishing up my rayon knit top.



The reason we get skipped stitches I think is because the fabric is very thin and is yet very tightly knit. So stabilizing the fabric might work. A tear away stabilizer will work but what's even easier is using Solvy!



It's water soluble so all you have to do is throw the top in wash after you're done and voila!



I tried it and what do you know. It DID WORK! Now I never want to be without Solvy. The only painful part is to cut it into strips. I wonder if they sell water soluble tape. That would be perfect for this.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


25 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Good tip, must try that next time, thanks.
12/1/09 1:41 PM
mhk3boys said...
Do you put the Solvy on the top or bottom of the fabric when sewing?
12/1/09 3:46 PM
mhk3boys said...
Ooops! I just looked at your pic! I will try this out! :)
12/1/09 3:47 PM
deesews said...
JoAnn Fabrics sells a 1/4" wide double stick dissolving item in 10 yard rolls on their notions wall. I think it is about $5. Would this work, or is it too narrow? (This is NOT the adhesive craft tape. The craft tape is not soluble.)
12/2/09 0:48 AM
snapdragonfly said...
thanks for this tip.
12/2/09 6:14 AM
WhyNotSewIt said...
Great solution - Thank you!
12/2/09 7:00 AM
susiestitcher said...
This is a great idea. I have used Solvy when stitching organza and organdy, but I never thought of it for knits. It is helpful to understand that each skipped stitch represents an episode when the needle goes down into the fabric and, as it rises up, the loop of thread that should form from it and which should then be caught by the bobbin shuttle hook, does not form correctly - so the bobbin shuttle hook has no loop to catch (or too small a loop, etc.) Sometimes, especially in knits, the fabric is actually rising up the shaft of the needle a bit as the needle rises back up and thus the loop doesn't form. It isn't supposed to do that in a perfect world. By stabilizing the knit fabric, you are helping the fabric stay put long enough for the needle loop to form. Other reasons for the loop not forming correctly can be the size and type of needle and the quality, content of the thread, or stretchiness/tension recovery of the thread. Sometimes, adjusting thread tension can also help. Having said all that, I still have issues with skipped stitches all the time, so just knowing the reasons sure doesn't make it any easier.
12/2/09 8:26 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I cut Solvy with a rotary cutter - it works well and you can cut many strips at once - pop them into a zip bag and have them ready to go.
12/2/09 8:40 AM
busy bee said...
Another tip I found that helps is to dip the needle in Thread Heaven to reduce static electricity. You can easily find it at JoAnn's. It's a one-inch cube of gel-like substance in a blue plastic container.
12/2/09 9:02 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks.
12/2/09 9:03 AM
what is not taken said...
Great tips. Thank you.
12/2/09 10:32 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I have also used this occasionally for sewing buttonholes on fine blousen fabric and when starting a straight stitch where the needle wants to push the fabric down into the throat-plate. Some solvy is so thin, you can just tear it away rather than wash (I'm somewhat lazy here).
12/2/09 1:47 PM
nancymm said...
The easiest way to cut Solvy strips is to roll up a usable length of the sheet , say 20 inches, and simply cut the widths you want all at once, with either scissors or a rotary cutter, like cutting a carrot into rounds. Do the whole width of your cut, and take all the strips and store in a zip-lock. Easy.
12/3/09 10:53 AM
ryansmumAria said...
What a good use for solvy. I use strips of tissue paper that I have cut with a rotary cutter. I stack a few sheets and then cut it a little bigger than my seam allowance ( I use either 1/4 or 1/2 seams as I worked in the garment industry where this is the standard.), I make the strip about 1/4 wider and then line it up with the fabric's edge. The paper is is very easy to remove. Solvy is nice because you don't have to remove it.
12/9/09 9:08 PM
ryansmumAria said...
nancymm - what a great idea!!!!!! I am going to give that a try for sure.hahahha
12/9/09 9:09 PM
marycds said...
Solvy strips on a roll would be a great idea. I use strips sometimes when I'm serging a rolled hem on certain fabrics. Maybe we could suggest this to Joyce Drexler and the Sulky people.
12/11/09 11:40 PM
Peg#1 said...
with your need for strips of solvy all you have to do is roll the solvy in a tube and flatten the tube, then cut the tube the width you want. you get a lot of strips from one sheet of solvy :)
12/20/09 2:05 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I like to use strips to stabilize when making a serged rolled hem on thin fabric. Maybe someone should market stabilizer rolls as "Stabil-Thin".
12/29/09 8:49 AM
evieandolivia said...
great tip!
1/19/10 0:15 AM
Bonnie N. said...
This has nothing to do with this review. I can't seem to find the place where you can subscribe for updates/newsletters on this site. My computer had to be reinstalled and now I'm not getting them. Help.
1/24/10 10:53 PM
PinzAndNeedles said...
Thank you so much for this information. I have been struggling for a couple of days with skipped stitches on a small rayon jersey knit item, and this solved my problem. Fantastic.
3/17/11 11:06 AM
jeannemarie1 said...
does this work with sheers also? i plan to sew a dress with sheer fabric
9/30/11 0:22 AM
Deepika said...
Jeannemarie, I see no reason why it shouldnt work. Try it on a scrap first.
9/30/11 1:44 PM
Sandra Mil said...
Sometimes I use adding machine paper.
12/26/11 11:14 PM
Sandra Mil said...
Sometimes I use adding machine paper.
12/26/11 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.