SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Intimately Yours: Bras that fit

Kansas, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5677 times
Posted by: SewRusty
photo

 
 
About SewRusty star
KS USA
Member since: 10/8/08
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/2/09 11:26 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Hey! Where's the template?! Hold on, this might get a bit rambling....;-)

I took the in-store bra-making class with Anne St. Clair. The class was taught to a group of 4 (or less) so that the maximum amount of assistance could be given as needed. You are supposed to bring your own machine so that you can write down the stitches that you'll use (Anne seems to know how to operate every kind of sewing machine under the sun--helpful for newbies or people with a new-to-them machine), but she has some machines there if you forget yours or can't bring it. I recommend bringing a notepad and a pen to take some notes (especially of the stitches and the sizes of stitches used and when).

Around a week before the class, you'll need to get fitted. After the fitting, Anne draws up your pattern so that it fits you perfectly--I suspect this is especially important if you have very different cup sizes and such. At this time you'll choose whether you want to go with beige or.....white?

The class lasts pretty much all day. 8-5 I think. You'll learn about the types and characteristics of the fabrics you will be using, and then you'll cut the pieces out. Then it's on to pressing and stitching, along with some modeling of different styles and fabrics. It's sort of like a girl's day out...except that you'll be making a bra too. ;-) It's a fun AND educational experience, I highly recommend it.

If you don't live in the Wichita area, you should call the store, because I think that she does travel to do classes occasionally. If you can drive to Wichita though, I'd recommend it, it's so worth it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
You really make it sound like a dream one-day vacation! I'd sure love to take this class.
12/3/09 7:23 AM
Kemish said...
Anne St Clair is going to be in the Los Angeles area in March 2010 to teach this class. Go to asgla.org for more details.
12/3/09 10:51 AM
Kemish said...
Anne St Clair is going to be in the Los Angeles area in March 2010 to teach this class. Go to asgla.org for more details.
12/3/09 10:51 AM
sewsally said...
Anne usually teaches a seminar at the ASG Convention. Next summer it will be in Atlanta.
12/3/09 11:22 AM
sewsally said...
How did your bra fit?
12/3/09 11:23 AM
ThePolyParrot said...
Well, I guess I'm going to Atlanta next summer. I have to take this class!
12/5/09 10:15 AM
sewing for fun said...
I went to one of her workshops also - it was wonderful!
12/5/09 8:23 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Everytime I have to plunk down 70 - 80 hard earned dollars for a couple of bras, I think to myself I should learn to sew my own. After all SOMEBODY somewhere sewed the expensive but lovely ones I purchase... Thank you for the informative review, and to others who mentioned other locations for the seminar.
12/7/09 8:28 AM
Mary Reed said...
I am jealous. I would love to take this class and have a bra that fits for once. I will contact the store and see where and when she travels. Thank you
12/8/09 10:23 PM
SewRusty said...
My bra fit perfectly, as though it was made for me. ;-) One thing of note is: DON'T turn your bra backwards to fasten it, because my first bra seemed to fit a bit differently after a couple of times of doing that. Always try to hook it from the back. I think it must bend the underwires (note: that's only a GUESS) if you turn it around to put it on. And yes, the class is worth every penny! :-)
12/10/09 3:29 PM
SewRusty said...
Oops! Double post!
12/10/09 3:30 PM
julstech said...
Thanks for posting this review. I was thinking about taking this class.
12/23/09 2:44 PM
diane s said...
Thanks for the review. Anne is coming to Portland in May and I just signed up!
2/17/10 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.