SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Jacket lining tip

Viewed 5302 times
Posted by: FullertonRegan
photo

 
 
About FullertonRegan starstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/08
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 22 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/21/09 7:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Normal sewists probably always line their coats and jackets with a standard lining fabric, but if you're like me sometimes you want a little more pizzazz! Unfortunately, pizzazz and lining do not yet seem to coexist.

Whenever I sew a coat, I like to line it with bright and fun cotton fabric. The problem with this is if I wear a long sleeved top or sweater and put on the jacket, the sleeves will usually “stick” to the inside of the coat’s sleeves making me have to reach up the arm hole & pull my blouse or sweater back down, and that’s just a pain in the booty.

To get around this, I just use regular old plain Jane lining for the sleeves only. This way you get the best of both worlds... snazzy, cute lining and a coat that’s a breeze to slip on. :)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
thanks!
12/21/09 10:26 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
This is also a good way to use up odd pieces of fabric. Thanks!
12/21/09 11:08 PM
fourkid said...
Hmmmm, what a great idea - it solves an issue I have been trying to solve for a few days now - thanks for writing.
12/22/09 5:24 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Great idea. If you are in los angeles, downtown fabric district has tons of gorgeous "wild" lining type fabrics for cheap!
12/26/09 11:05 AM
said...
Jackets are my thing and this tip is fantastic. Thanks
12/31/09 1:07 PM
kerrynw said...
Good tip, thanks!
1/9/10 5:40 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Nice tip! I like your idea about colorful cotton linings... Do you find that you have problems with lining 'shifting' in the sleeves? I just made a lined jacket and the sleeve lining doesn't really want to stay in place--it seems to slide out and I have to re-adjust the lining and sleeve hem when I put the jacket on. I know that my store bought jackets don't have this problem. Anyone out there have suggestion on what I should do differently?
2/21/10 11:12 PM
Coastal Connie said...
Nice tip! I like your idea about colorful cotton linings... Do you find that you have problems with lining 'shifting' in the sleeves? I just made a lined jacket and the sleeve lining doesn't really want to stay in place--it seems to slide out and I have to re-adjust the lining and sleeve hem when I put the jacket on. I know that my store bought jackets don't have this problem. Anyone out there have suggestion on what I should do differently?
2/21/10 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.