SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Marking Sleeve Center

Viewed 5279 times
Posted by: craftygamma
photo

 
 
About craftygamma
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/25/09 6:56 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
I always cut a notch at the top center of sleeves. It is much easier to find than a marking dot, especially if the sleeve cap is gathered or the fabric has a busy print. I don't know why the pattern companies just don't draw the pattern that way in the first place, instead of having you go back & mark it after you cut it. Than it would be one step instead of two.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca Szetela said...
I do this too! How logical it would be if the pattern companies did mark this. Alas, they are quite illogical and directions on patterns are quite poor these days. Inexpensive sewing literature (pamphlets) from the '40's through the early '60's that often came free with the sewing machine or was available for pennies was so comprehensive it puts today's patterns (and some glossy and expensive books) to shame! Thanks for your sewing tip!
12/26/09 5:58 AM
fourkid said...
What a great tip - Thanks for sharing. I am going to do this all the time now - That makes sooooooo much sense.
12/26/09 6:44 AM
monijo said...
Kwik-Sew patterns always mark the centers where ever they are with a notch. For other patterns, I draw a notch at the center of the sleeve cap before cutting the pattern out. That way it's always there.
12/26/09 7:41 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Great tip!
12/26/09 8:54 AM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks - good point!
12/26/09 9:55 AM
ryansmumAria said...
This is an important tip. I would also add that it's also necessary to mark center front and back which pattern companies don't always do. In the garment industry, we always marked those..
12/26/09 11:02 AM
jannw said...
Great tip..I always do this also..in fact, I cut notches at every marking point on the pattern..and I cut my notches out, not in..a legacy from my tailor grandmother..I'm glad to know I'm not the only one doing this..
12/28/09 3:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.