SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pre fuse interfacing before cutting fabric

Viewed 5271 times
Posted by: julialee23
photo

 
 
About julialee23
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/28/09 3:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
If the pattern calls for fusible interfacing, I often prefuse the interfacing to the fabric before cutting the pieces. This eliminates a second cut for the same pattern piece, and since I usually re-arrange pattern pieces for cutting to maximize fabric, you can often reduce the amount of fabric and interfacing purchased and save time too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
Great timesaving tip. Thanks for a simple idea.
12/28/09 2:02 PM
babbling brook said...
Why didn't I think of this???? Thanks!!
12/28/09 11:57 PM
Susannah said...
This will be so much easier than the ''old way''. Thanks
12/29/09 7:08 PM
Sewnla said...
That is such a great idea, thank you.
12/29/09 11:48 PM
regine said...
There is only one downside to doing this, I find it is better to cut the fusing smaller so that the seams are not so bulky. I cut the fusing 1.5 cms smaller all round.
1/3/10 2:46 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Regine, With thinner interfacings you can skip cutting the interfacing smaller than the fabric. It actually looks better with the interfacing in the seamline. Read to wear does this all the time. The one exception is when I use fusible fleece and am going to sew many seams together as in some purses. D
1/3/10 10:30 PM
mrsgaryc said...
Not a bad idea, but you then have fusing in the seam allowances! What I do for facings is sew the right side of fusable interfacing to the right side of the facing JUST ALONG THE HEM LINE. Then trim most of the interfacing in the hem and other seamlines away, turn the facing, pressing a little from the inside first alongside the hem to help it turn. Then you're done with the facing hems!
3/9/12 8:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.