SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Blue painters tape

Viewed 5576 times
Posted by: SewRaeMe
photo

 
 
About SewRaeMe
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/7/10 9:53 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I recently read about blue painters tape in an issue of Threads magazine.

I can't remember even what the article said but I bought some and used it to tape my fabric to my rotary mat cutting board. This worked great at holding my fabric stable so it doesn't slip around.
As I cut past or over the tape, I would peel it off and place it over the actual cut out shape. It also works great for marking a straight line on your fabric.

The tape will not leave any sticky residue on "almost" all fabrics although I would test it on the edge first. I was using it on heavy fleece and not only did it hold it didn't tear up the fleece when I took it off.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Quilsha said...
What is this tape, can you get it in England?
2/2/10 9:04 AM
abbe said...
From experience, I know it must come off woodwork fairly soon after painting is completed. Otherwise, it's a pain to remove. Probably not a problem w/ fabric, but for cutting areas/measures, remove asap.
1/8/10 1:15 PM
FL Girl said...
Great tip! I've been using painters tape as a seam guide. It's easy to move and remove and doesn't leave any sticky residue on my machine.
1/8/10 12:25 PM
fourkid said...
Great tip, thanks.
1/8/10 7:58 AM
Mimicj said...
Thanks for this tip. I use the blue painters tape when I am tracing a pattern using STP but never thought about holding the fashion fabric in place to use the rotary cutter.
1/7/10 6:28 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you for the tip.
1/7/10 10:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.