SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Query: machine for sewing fur seams

Viewed 5527 times
Posted by: Katie47
photo

 
 
About Katie47
CA USA
Member since: 3/5/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/15/10 12:12 PM
Review Rating: Off-topic by 1 people   
I know that furriers use a special machine for the seams. Does anybody know of a site where I can get one? Are they easy to use? How much do they cost? Does anybody know where I could get lessons on how to use such a machine? Any help would be appreciated.

Deepika: I'd LOVE to have an online class on sewing with fur that parallels the Sewing with Leather class.

Katie in Berkeley, CA

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
imciecie said...
I would be one of the first to sign up. If an when there was a sewing with fur,fur pelts an leather . So when is someone going to put one togeather for thoese of us.I'm sure I'm not the only one out there that needs this class!
5/2/13 5:32 AM
JGF said...
The machine is simply called a Fur Machine It sews the seam horizontally, with the needle coming directly towards you. The seam formed is similar to an overcast serger seam but without the cutting actions. One thread, looper, hook and needle. Forms a small tight overedge seam.
2/10/10 9:18 PM
1961 said...
You are smart to do research before acquiring a machine. Are you aware that in order to get the beautiful fur appearance that the fur is cut into strips and then sewn together to create the "fur fabric" to achieve a particular look? The more expensive furs have this method called "let out." So, the furriers use the machine for more than just sewing the seams of the fur together. Also a machine is selected according to the type of fur you will sew- whether you’re sewing light, medium, or heavy furs. If you Google e-bay you’ll see a fur sewing machine available for $7,000. There are also some sites taking you to YouTube demonstrating the use of the machine. Good luck!
2/10/10 11:45 AM
Wino said...
Check Ebay-Bonis is one brand I can think of. Even vintage machines can be somewhat expensive ~700+. They are still manufactured.
1/26/10 8:02 PM
Bar B said...
Using fur is TOTALLY unconscionable.
1/26/10 7:21 PM
Mufffet said...
Not the place for questions. Try the forums.
1/15/10 1:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.